Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok I understand the Space Wolves (and 13th company rule) on HQ's per set pt value. Which leads me to a puzzling situation. 13th Company only have 3 HQ possible, only 3. So when you hit 2250 you have to (per Space Wolf HQ rule) must stop on your FO.
Now in fourth edition they introduce multiple detachment (or multiple FO charts). In which you can have multiple FO charts in big point games but each must forfill the required 1 HQ and 2 Troops slots (or other variants per misson scenario). This would leave you to believe that 13th company can play higher then 2250pt games by just starting a 2nd FO with the required Wolf Lord and 2 Troops.
But here comes the brain teaser. Does the 2nd FO have to be another 13th company? Could it per chance be a regular Space Wolves army?
(Reason for asking: I have 3K tournies in the area I attend. In this tourney I am hoping to play my 13th. Now assume the coordinator allows 2 FO's. I would wonder how much better my 13th would do if I had some rhinos to park in the way of shooting as they slowly advance up the board.)
Normally because its thirteenth company, yes it would have to be another thirteenth company list. (The problem here is that not only do you need permission for the second FOC but you also need permission to break the thirteenth company rules of no allies in order to take normal space wolves.)
Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.
"The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
Member of the Fluff Masters Clan
Due to the nature of the 13th company's design, it is ture they are not meant to play beyond 2250 pts.
The complementory organisation slot would have to be filed with a 13th company army, or at least units for the same codex entry.
This is ture for all armies, but some being more flexible (eg space marines or guard) will allow you to field a completely different army for the same codex entry. This is not the case of the 13th company I am afraid.
Now the only army that you can include as a second organisation detachment that isn't for the same source book is kroot mercenaries, wich are not available to the 13th company wulfen.
Thank you darkreever and Wolf_pack