deep striking Landspeeders - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member drumbum8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    deep striking Landspeeders

    if your deepstriking landspeeders, and they land on a piece of terrain, are they destroyed? or can they just hover on it?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Too Sexy For My Whirlwind Sabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Edmonton,AB
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x3)

    They hover over terrain so unless you actually wanted them to land in said terrain they would be fine.
    Peace
    Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion

  4. #3
    Member drumbum8000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    how would trying to land in terrain affect the outcome?

  5. #4
    Back in action! Lord Yossanrion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia, reading "Make-Out Paradise."
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,833
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    206 (x6)

    *boot*

    Moved to 40k Rules Qs.

    ~Yoss
    Anzac Clan!
    Final Fantasy!

  6. #5
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    If you wanted to land in the terrain (to try and get a hull down since you're not moving over 6"), then you have to take a vehicle dangerous terrain check.

  7. #6
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by moob
    If you wanted to land in the terrain (to try and get a hull down since you're not moving over 6"), then you have to take a vehicle dangerous terrain check.
    Sorry mate, this ain't right.

    First, skimmers can't enter terrain in fourth edition, they always fly over it. So no gaining obscured for being IN Area terrain. Mind you, you may certainly be eligible for obscured by being behind said terrain.

    Second, landing in terrain has nothing to do with deepstriking, be it terrain, area terrain or difficult terrain, but with that said, see 3.

    Third and most importantly, deep striking into IMPASSABLE terrain, or an enemy unit, will destroy you.

    Fourth, while you could argue that skimmers ignore the impassable terrain, nothing is mentioned about such things for deepstriking, nor does it say skimmers can deepstrike onto impassable terrain. Similar arguement as to what happens if a unit DS's onto a friendly unit. By the rules, while not laid out all too clear (thanks GW), they are destroyed.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    and you count as moving 12" when deepstriking a landspeeder, so its glancing anyways

  9. #8
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by MrMold
    and you count as moving 12" when deepstriking a landspeeder, so its glancing anyways
    The rules do not state as such. It's one thing that is still vague. It only "counts as moving" without specifying exactly what that means.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  10. #9
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by MrMold
    and you count as moving 12" when deepstriking a landspeeder, so its glancing anyways
    As rork has pointed out, only DE skimmers that actually have a rules saying THEY count as havng moved more than 6" get the SMF rule after deepstriking. This is not applicable to landspeeders.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  11. #10
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by tarzen
    Sorry mate, this ain't right.

    First, skimmers can't enter terrain in fourth edition, they always fly over it. So no gaining obscured for being IN Area terrain. Mind you, you may certainly be eligible for obscured by being behind said terrain.

    Second, landing in terrain has nothing to do with deepstriking, be it terrain, area terrain or difficult terrain, but with that said, see 3.

    Third and most importantly, deep striking into IMPASSABLE terrain, or an enemy unit, will destroy you.

    Fourth, while you could argue that skimmers ignore the impassable terrain, nothing is mentioned about such things for deepstriking, nor does it say skimmers can deepstrike onto impassable terrain. Similar arguement as to what happens if a unit DS's onto a friendly unit. By the rules, while not laid out all too clear (thanks GW), they are destroyed.
    Just to add...
    The Tau upgrade "Sensor Spines" allow a vehicle to enter terrain and be obscured. As far as I know, this is the only exception for skimmers. I wouldn't be suprised if the Space Elves get something similar in their new codex.
    Just out of curiousity, whats next? Maybe you can make an issue about the fact that GW didn't define the action of 'rolling' a D6 to actually mean dropping it in such a manner as to produce a random result; thus making it perfectly acceptable to just put them down with the face up of your choice?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts