Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was just wondering if someone could tell me whether a carnifex with a barbed strangler can move and then fire. On the weapon stats it says that it is an assault weapon (and so can move and fire) but it is also using an ordnance template which not including the new vehicle rules means that it can't move and fire. Which rule supercedes which rule.
I was playing with a friend and he was saying that I wasn't able to fire it because I had moved - ie. the ordnance supercedes the assault rating - is this true?
The Barbed Strangler is NOT an ordnance weapon. It doesn't allow extra dice vs armor and it doesn't follow the rules for scatter or firing and moving. It just uses the large template. It is still an Assault 1 gun.
Thanks for that - I guess that his marines will just have to die then - hahahaha. Double the toughness ordnance will rock - hopefully.
Note that barbed stranglers do NOT ignore a marine's armour save. Instant kill strength has no effect on armour piercing.Double the toughness ordnance will rock
Damn, forgot about that bit - at least it means that he has to make plenty of saves - wounding on anyting but a 1. If they are nicely bunched up that would mean that possibly 6-7 saves will need to be made.
One thing to remember with Barbed Stranglers (and Tau Railgun Submunitions, having similar rules) is that the opponent may still reposition the template as per Blast Weapon rules.
Of course, with the amount of models that pieplate is hitting, it'll be tough to reposition. =)
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."