Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Say I want to build a Space Marines army, but want to include a Callidus Assassin. However, I don't want to use an Inquisitor Lord, since they're too pricey. Instead, I'd rather pay the cheap amount of points for a regular Elites Inquisitor and still be able to take my Assassin.
To do this, say I ally myself with Witch Hunters. I purchase an Inquisitor, filling up my one (and only) Allied Elites slot from them.
Now I ally myself with Daemonhunters. I'm able to purchase an Elites choice from them, which will be the Assassin. This is possible since the only requirement is that an Inquisitor is part of the Force (page 26 of DH Codex), which has been covered by the WH Inquisitor.
Yea or nay? Obvious exploit of the Allies rules?
As far as I can see, with regard to the rules, that is legal. You are correct that it does not specify that the inquisitor has to be from the same codex, allowing you to take a DH =][= and a WH assassin. Some people may consider that a slight exploit of the rules, but I would not have any problem with you doing it at all.
Well, technically you're right. The allied rules in both 'hunters codices are written specifically for each one, which kinda says you could have two sets of allies (I'd be a little unhappy if someone tried it, but I could just about accept it).
I'm dubious about this since you're using the inquisitor from one army to gain access to the assassin in the other. I would say that any dependencies should follow one codex or the other (because a witch hunter employing a "daemonhunter" seems very odd). I would say that was exploiting the vague rules in that case.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I'm inclined to say you cannot do it - the prerequisite units have to come from the same codex, same as prerquisite trrops + Hq - just as the WH Inq doesnt have access to the DH armory, he also doesnt have access to DH assassins, just WH ones.
They are two discreet units, with different options and so forth, so one cannot be substituted for the other.
The usual consensus in the other threads about this is that you have to take an Inquisitor Lord.
Because, though the assassins are the same, the way you access them is not - if you take a DH inquisitor, you gain access to assassins through the DH list - so they have to fit into the available slots in the DH allies setup.
If you could, you would in essence have 4 elite slots available in any DH/WH army, as long as one is filled by an assassin - and that 4th slot would be free.
No, because you still have to obey the maximum number of slots allowed by the standard FO chart that the mission allows. So while what I'm proposing could let you take a "Witch-Hunter Assassin" in a Daemonhunters force, it'd be pointless since it's exactly the same thing, and takes up one of your (usually) three avaliable Elites slots.Originally Posted by Miril
I'm not proposing that the Space Marines army would have an extra Elites slot - it'd still be filling up two of the three slots with allies, leaving the one left for regular troops.
Ah yes - my bad, I wasn't thinking clearly about that one. I still think you have to fill the prerequisite from the codex that the assassin comes from, though.
When a codex talks about a unit, it doesn't have to call it by its full name. The DH codex can talk about "Inquisitors", and its referring only to DH Inquisitors. No codex has rules that overwrite another totally seperate codex's rules.
When the DH codex says an Inquisitor is needed for an Assassin to be used, this means its talking about a DH Inquisitor. That's like saying that when the DH codex talks about using a Dreadnought from the Grey Knights, you can just sub in a Dreadnought from the Marines because they have the same name.
This, at least, is my opinion.
Even if it IS legal to do the WH/DH split like that, it DOES break the spirit of the rules.
Sounds great. Inq's ally with other Inq's all the time. Who's to say whether or not Inq Jim would not lend his Callidus shrine assassin to Inq Steve. Maybe he wants to keep an eye on things but can't go himself.
I say throw in a kill team to boot. Maybe some Alien Heretics that have Inq traders in their midst need smiting.
No crying here. I'd play you.