Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have been unable to find the answer to the following question in black and white and as such wanted to post it to solve a dispute once and for all:
A squad of marines moves to within seven inches of a rhino.
The marines shoot the rhino with a melta gun and score a penetrating hit (wrecked), forcing the occupants to disembark. The occupants disembark and have at least one model within six inches of the marines who busted their transport.
a. The marines may not declare an assault as the unit they shot at is no longer in play.
b. The marines are able to assault the vehicle's occupants because it was a dedicated transport and therefore not a seperate unit.
When answering please include the rules in question and page numbers if possible. Thank you for your time and input.
The only thing I can come up with here is that it depends on whether the transport counts as part of the unit, or not. I would assume no, as it does not have to follow the unit coherency rules, and other things that effect the unit do not effect it.
Besides that, you can only assault a unit that you shot at (page 36, Shooting And Assaulting).
Personally, I would assume that you are not able to assault the occupying squad, as I don't think that the unit's transport counts as part of the unit itself. I'll keep searching the rulebook on this one, though, to see if I can get something that'll help you better. :yes:
Searched the rule book. It does not talk about this situation. I disagree with Lost but there is no page to site. It is your interpretation on this one.
its the same as asking whether or not the rhino's occupants can be fired upon by the rest of the squad's bolters, no
you can't do it because they are seperate from their transport (function independantly, therefore are)
as much as that goes against common sense (with the charging), thats how it works
Well this has been cover before . I believe I was the last one to ask this question about 8 months ago(lol). Let me see if I remeber this correctly.
1) You can only charge the unit you shoot at.
So question is does the transport unit count as part as the unit it transports.
Short answer: no
Long answer: Just because it is part of your troop organization does not made it same unit.You could deployment them separate from each other on table. All members of unit my stay in corhency but transport could be put across the table away from the squad it was transporting
IG has platoons that are brought toegther and deploy same time but they are not same unit each squad is separate. Also look at the rules of squad shooting from a vehicle their can shoot a separate unit the only restriction they have is if the transport unit move then the squad inside is consider moved for shoot so no heavy weapons can fired from it. So from these examples I believe it shows that their are separate units.
Anyway I hope this help some
Last edited by bonekrusher; August 17th, 2006 at 13:13.
bonekrusher mentions an important point here:
for the purposes of army selection the unit and its dedicated transport are one choice. But for the purposes of shooting/assaulting they are separate entities altogether. So unfortunately you cannot assault or shoot at a squad that had to disembark.
(there are many other examples, where a group of units/individuals are one choice for the purposes of army selection but then act independently during the game - various 'nid creatures, various IG).
Shut up and play.