Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This may have been previously answered, but I searched and couldn't find anything.
Let's assume a chaos lord just beat some IG guardsmen in combat (big surprise). The remaining 6 guard ( I3) roll a 3 for their S Adv. dice. The lord (I5) rolls a 4, thus easily beating them. I know that the IG unit is destroyed, but does the lord get to actually advance the 9 inches? Also, let's assume the Lord rolled a 1 ( 6 total) and the guard rolled a 6 (9 total) do the guard actually get to move 9 inches, thus putting them out of combat?? I really am confused, please help.
You will find that the rulebook will answer all your questions. Cannot give you the exact page right now, I am afraid.
Ultimately the I+D6 roll is not a distance, but simply a roll to see if you catch people.
If the winner catches them and they don't have ATSKNF they're dead. The winner then consolidates (the distance depends on wether it was a charge/massaker or not)
If the winner doesn't catch the losing side he simply consolidates and the fleeing unit falls back as normal.
Shut up and play.
As stated the Initiative + 1d6 roll has no bearing on how far anything moves. It's just used to determine if the squad is caught and wiped out. The Lord gets a consolidation move in both cases (there are two types of consolidation moves, 3" and 1d6", read the book for where to apply each type)
If the Lord wins the roll then the IG squad is removed and he consolidates.
If IG win the roll they fall back (as per thier unit type, probably 2d6") and the Lord consolidates.
The BGB also clarifies who wins the roll in the event of a tie.
Last edited by medic_4077; August 17th, 2006 at 23:32.
War Record Since Sept 2005
Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar