Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If Tyranid Warriors count as Beasts per the back of the BGB, and thusly can't set up in escalation games, can they then fleet, like ALL other beasts? Cause if so, then I'll buy more. Move, fleet, fast charge, 1 rending bio-plasma, 4 rending + scything str 5 attacks at initiative 5 per model? Yes please. Screw the synapse advantages, that's better than stealers just from the extra movement. I've got a tournament tomorrow, and my list has no MCs. Wish me luck.
Oh yeah, then why the "but don't count as Beasts" language in the codex? Because the only other unit what can buy leaping is Rippers. Little guys never count as beasties, I guess.
Screw you, UKGT FAQ. :yes:
The codex is a more recent publication than the rulebook, and the codex states they are not beasts - most recent publications take precedence, and hence you should follow the rules in the codex - they're not beasts. It's a shame, becasue combined with the new tyranid instant death rules, they're nerfed.
The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left."
Quandry: In the most recent UK GT FAQ rules clarification thingy, it says that Warriors with Leaping don't set up in escalation. The only reason they wouldn't is because they aren't infantry, but Beasts per the back of the BGB. Normally, I'm all about them not being beasts, but them starting in escalation games. If they aren't Beasts, but still don't set up in escalation games, even though they're status never changes, is bullsh*t of an enormous scale.
Whomever wrote that UK GT FAQ didn't know what the hell they are talking about. They screwed up quite a number of rules.
Pete Haines himself has stated that units with Daemonic Speed are allowed to set up in Escalation games. Link to proof.
Also, they state that Gifts of the Gods only count against Wargear, when the Codex specifically states that they count against Daemonic Gifts. That's obviously wrong.
Cover saves against Mind War? Pft. I got tired of reading that tripe by that point.
Personally, I say go with the UK GT rules for their games and make an extremely broken Chaos Lord, wipe the tournament, and then go back to the appropriate way of playing the game like the designers intended.