Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The BGB states you can see 6" into area terrain, but makes no real mention of seeing out. It also states if both shooter and target are in the same terrain, they cannot see if more than 6" apart.
What has come up twice in the past two weeks, but never before this in countless games, is that someone has said that you can only see through 6" of terrain total adding the distance out of one and into another. For example, a havoc squad is 3" deep in one piece of area terrain and wants to shoot a tac squad that's 4" into another piece... well, the havocs can see out of their terrain no problem. A normal squad can see into the tac squad's terrain easy... but since the havocs are looking 3" out, they can't see 4" in another piece.
Was this person right? I could not see anywhere in the bgb that it stated to add up the distances between terrain pieces for your sight, but nowhere did it state you could see 6" out of one and 6" into another.
This sounds like one of those "rare instances" that GW tends not to plan ahead for, and the rules are left up to the players. I don't think there is any official stance on that one, but I, personally, would say that that player was right - you can't see through 6" total of Area Terrain. It makes sense if you give it a thought.
That's just how I'd play it, though.
it used to be more clearly addressed in the old codex:catachans. it also had the jungle fighting rules in it. That is where the "adding up the distances" came from if the total came to be more than 6'' - like they did in your example - that was it.
it is not in the official rules right now, as far as I remember, but most people still ahndle it like that.
Shut up and play.
I would agree with what has allready been said on this thread, in my gaming group we use the rule you cannot see through more than 6" total area terrain, also i this is mentioned in the new catachan codex as well, (which is downloadable from the GW web site).
Hope this helped!
Inquistion force WIP. Pics on posts 17 and 23.
Thanks guys, I appreciate the input.
You can't shoot shrough any terrain that you're not in, unless the targets are in that terrain piece, and the 6" is cumilative, so if you are 3" into terrain and the target is 4", you cannot phisically see the target. :yes: although the rulebok is not very clear.:wacko: . This kind of thing is subjected to a lot of house rules. I think the 6" cumilative is the most logical way of doing it...
Interesting, I've never played it this way (cumulative distance through terrain), but there is deffinately some merit to the idea. However the argument that "it just makes more sense this way" doesn't have a lot of swing with me. If the rules reflected the real world then maybe, but they just don't. For example, SM1 is standing 5" away from E1 in the same (2" x 10") forest, but SM2 who is standing 3" away from E2 on the other side of the same forest can't see him. see Illustration below.
To this, all I have to say is "HUH?". But hey that's what the rules say.
"It was a magnificent display of trained and disciplined valour, and its assault failed of success because dead men can advance no further"Originally Posted by rat of vengence
-refering to the Royal Newfoundland Regiment at Beaumont-Hamel after they took 90% casualties in the assault
new codex:catachans? Didn;t know that they ahd an update. I'll download that.Originally Posted by Cripsin
Shut up and play.