Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I checked in the rulebook and it seems like a squad with a transport can move up to 20" a turn, which seems very wrong (a 6" move, 2" to get into transport, and 12" in the transport). This doesn't make sence, but it doesn't mention anywhere that you cant. Does anyone know if this is accually allowed?
As far as I am aware, the disembarkment IS the troops move, so the transport could move 12" and then the troops could disembark 2" for a total of 14".
Psyco was refering to the other way around. Move, embark, transport moves. According to the rules, if you move within 2" of the vehicle the squad can embark. Then the vehicle may move 12" if it has not moved already. So yes, they could move 20" at the absolute extreme (not counting any special rules that add to this). Reference page 81, BBB.
Looking at it the other way, the unit could start in the vehicle, move 12", disembark (14" so far) and actually get 6" more if they assault. Again this isn't counting other special rules that add to this, such as fleet-of-foot, red paint job, etc.
It does seem quite a distance, even though it doesn't normally work out to the absolute maximum. However, it is relatively balanced. It is the root of the Rhino rush complaint, though, and I expect new rules in 4th ed will do something to prevent these types of moves.
Another question, if you disembark, can you shoot a heavy weapon the same turn?
It seems like you can, but they're moving and firing.
The rulebook makes it seem like you can.
(I'm assuming that the vehicle didn't move)
No you can't.
The BBB (Big Black Book, basic rulebook) isn't really clear in it's explanation (imagine that, GW not writing clearly <_< ), but in the FAQ it is written better:
11. Disembarking before a vehicle moves does count as movement for the models, so heavy weapons canâ€™t be fired. Rapid fire and pistol weapons can only shoot once.
Essentially, if you move your guys at all, it counts as moving regardless of what the action is actually called.
In the BBB it states that units cannot enter and exit a transport in the same turn. I dont have my copy on me, so i can't give a page number, but its in there.
Well that would go to that when you embark you have to move your guys and when you disembark you move your guys. Also since you move disembark I guess you could then embark again but I believe since firing is in the next stage you could not fire and then embark. This does assume that you can disembark. I don't have the BBB so I don't know exactly.