Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does nurgle's rot affect the members of a transport? How about if the transport is open topped?
This is one of those cases that when it came up in the game it seemed so obvious that it would affect the unit that we played it that way at the time, despite not being able to find rules regarding it. I believe the nurgle's rot rule says something along the lines of models within x" are affected. So this question concerning nurgle's rot stems from a broader question, which is:
If a model is not physically on the board, but in an assumed position (such as inside a rhino or a bunker) is it subject to effects and abilities that affect "models?"
don't think so.
transported units are not susceptible to any other attacks (including psychic)
so i doubt nurgles rot is any different.
"i am a leaf in the wind, see how i soar"
You cant hit models inside transports with indirect fire, flamer templates, etc.. I see no reason why nurgle's rot would be able to affect models inside a transport due to other non-directed attacks having no effect
Open-topped doesnt change anything, you still cant target models inside an open-topped vehicle. It just gets bonuses and penalties detailed in the vehicle's section
This is the rule I am looking for. Where can this be found? I see under the psychic powers that the psyker must follow the normal rules for shooting meaning if he cannot see the target (models in a transport) he can not shoot at them, but this is not exactly what I am looking for since nurgle's rot is not targetted.transported units are not susceptible to any other attacks (including psychic)
My problem here is one of common sense. Obviously a tank can protect its passengers from enemy fire such as ordinance and flamethrowers, but common sense says a rhino is no barrier against mystical biological warfare such as nurgle's rot, especially not an open topped one, which is why I mentioned it in the original query. I know warhammer is a game and for the sake of simplicity certain things have to be taken with a grain of salt, but this reasoning coupled with the fact that I can not find a rule in black and white on the matter has me questioning.
In the end I suppose the unit inside a vehicle is not susceptable for the following reasons:
1. Two models can not occupy the same space at the same time.
2. A unit inside a vehicle can not be considered as models because that would break rule #1
3. Nurgle's Rot affects models.
I suspected that there might be a special case for things such as this though, some rule from a codex or mission that addressed spores or gas clouds or some other area of effect airborne danger and how they affected transports, but I guess such a thing does not exist.
As a side note I would like to mention that I did not ask this because I was trying to stretch the nurgle army and make it better than it is. On the contrary, as a Space Wolf and Tau player whose primary opponent has just taken up Chaos I am relieved to know that my death coffin pups and FoFFW's will be out of harms way.
Nurgles rot happens in the shooting phase, so it should be treated as a special type of shooting attack.
As you cannot shoot at a unit in a transport they cannot be rotted.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
I can not shoot at my own units, but they can be rotted.As you cannot shoot at a unit in a transport they cannot be rotted.
I can not shoot at units locked in combat, but they can be rotted.
I can not shoot at a unit on the other side of area terrain, but they can be rotted.
I can not shoot at a unit I do not have los to, but they can be rotted.
I can not shoot at multiple targets, but they all can be rotted.
I can not shoot at an IC that is not the closest unit, but he can be rotted.
The rot is not at all a targetted thing. Rules specific to targetting have no bearing on nurgle's rot.
I don't think you're going to find any hard, fast rule for it. You're just going to have to clear it with your opponents.
Personally, I would play it as if the models weren't on the table to begin with. This is essentially what keeps you from charging the models inside of a transport and Locking yourself in Combat. There's no rule that says you can't assault a unit inside of a Transport - people just assume that you can't because the models aren't present.
At the very least I think I just found something that's makes a strong case the Nurgle's Rot does affect transport passengers. I was just re-scanning the transport rules and one thing kept popping up that I had not thought to look for before. In several places on pages 62-64 the book it refers to the passengers as models:
"Models can embark or disembark..."
"All of the models aboard an open-topped vehicle..."
"If compelled to disembark, any models that..."
It's pure semantics, but this would suggest that GW considers passengers as models. If that is true, then they should be subject to Nurgle's Rot / Plague Carrier in my opinion.
Cal, you are completely correct though. It is something that can be construed either way and as such should be talked about prior to the match. I see a lot of Golden Rule rolls in my future. = P
The easiest way is to just not try to force it on your opponents.. As I stated above models in transports are not eligible to be damaged by even weapons that do not target them. Nurgles rot follows similar logic to say, a scattered ordnance blast that can hit either side. Regardless of where it lands it cannot damage a model in a transport
Its one of those things that only have 3 options
A) You dont do it to save yourself grief
You argue with your opponent for 2 hours and maybe they agree, but they'll never play you again
C) You convince some young kid because they dont know the rules
Obviously you did not read all the above posts, so let me crack an egg of knowledge on your head:Originally Posted by KirasuIt benefits me if it does not affect the models inside the transport. However I am not one to ignore or interpret rules to suit my best interest so I am attempting to clarify this ability.Originally Posted by JohnPublic