Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This was brought up in another post that was about a chaos Night Lords army. I just wanted to put this out on the forum as a specific question. Where does it say that a bike mounted plasma gun, if it over heats, could kill the rider if he doesn't make his s/t. I thought that if it was mounted to the bike and not carried by the biker that he would be safe from the over heating problem. Again its not that I don't believe the other answers I got but they did not seem to sure of the rule. I just need to know for sure before I place them on my models.
Also, the plasmagun bought as an upgrade for a biker is not mounted to the bike, but carried by the biker. The bike still comes with the twin-linked bolters as standard. The biker, therefore, is still vulnerable to the Gets Hot rule.
be careful with bikers and their options.Originally Posted by Valerian
A Space Marine carries the Plasma Gun himself in addition to the bike mounted bolters, so it doesn't benefit from the bike's sepcial rule (always stationary).
A Chaos Space Marine has the Plasma Gun mounted, replacing the twinlinked bolters, so it benefits from the always stationary rule.
Shut up and play.
Originally Posted by Lamenter
Thanks Lamenter, for keeping me straight. I hadn't noticed (since I don't pull out the CSM Codex much) that subtle difference, but you are absolutely correct. I shouldn't have made the assumption that both types of bikers would be the same (what was I thinking?). I suppose Caluin's assessment would be the correct one, then. CSM Bikers with the plasmagun still get the 24" range (because of the always counts as stationary rule ((pg. 53 BG), but would still be vulnerable to overheating (pg. 6 and pg. 53 BG.