Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My friend plays IG and he had some autocannons support squads attached to his HQ platoon. And in the rule book it says 5-6 hit gun how would you calculate it a penetrating hit glancing?
The very existence of flame-throwers proves that some time, somewhere, someone said to themselves, You know, I want to set those people over there on fire, but I'm just not close enough to get the job done.
Are you those people?
You sound like you're reading from the vehicles damage table... in support squads/heavy weapon teams, you cannot hit the gun. It is there until all of the crew is killed - it is not hit, it is not destroyed, etc. You have to kill the gunners.Originally Posted by nickle bottom
I believe this comes from the confusion that some see the two models on one base and assume they must therefore have special rules. Artillery looks like a special rule that would fit them, but they actually don't count as artillery batteries so the guns cannot be hit.
Treat IG heavy weapon teams as two models on one base. So in CC if the base is within 2" of a unit in base-to-base with an enemy, both models on the singular base are engaged. The entire base isn't removed until both models are dead. Because it counts as two models on one base and not one model with two wounds I'm pretty sure you can elect to kill the crew member without the heavy weapon without having to remove the entire base. Just use a die or some other indicator to show that one of the crewman representated has been killed.
Atleast that's how I understand them to work .
Darguth is totally correct the heavy weapon is given to a squad member in exactly the same way as any other army therefore the only way to get rid of it is to kill the man with it.. The two men on one base thing is in the FAQ so i dont know why it confuses anyone who comes here!