Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I'm sure this has been asked a million times before... but its easy to answer...
I want to put a Chaos LT w/ D. Flight and a pair of lightning claws into a unit of Raptors. Not technically a retinue... Can he be picked out in melee combat in the new 4th ed. rules? I don't want him easily mushed w/ a hidden powerfist, should he be forced into combat in that situation!
Thanks for any help. :sleep:
Even if he did have an actual retinue(AKA Chosen) he could still be picked out in CC, all IC's can, but obviously only my models close enough to hit them(2"). As far as shooting goes an IC attached to a squad can never be pciked out except by something that specifically says so(Vindicares, centre hole of a particle whip, certain wargear, etc.)
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
Is it not true that an attached IC can be selected to take wounds by the shooter if the shooting squad lands more hits then member of the squad being shot at?
My MOS is attached to a squad of 6 Assault Marines. They take 20 shots, 10 hit and now they have to roll of for 10 wounds. It states in the rulebook that when there are more hits then models the shooting player gets to appropriate the first wound. Could they not then select the MOS?
It's not targeting the MOS but it's a close enough question to not start another thread...
Well, crud. I guess I won't be sticking him in that unit. The raptors try to charge in such a manner that they are only fighting a few models at a time, in either case, but I'll think more about this application... :sleep:Originally Posted by Caluin
Originally Posted by DarkBishop
Close. In your example, 20 shots with 10 hits... now he still has to roll to wound using the majority toughness. Then, if he has EQUAL TO or more wounds than the number of members in the squad (in this case 7 - 6 marines + IC), then he can assign the first wound for you to make a save against.
He doesn't need to get more wounds than models, just an equal amount. Also, if there are multiple types of weapons hitting, he cannot force you to pick a certain type of save.. For example, 1 las cannon, 1 plasma, and 5 bolter shots are the 7 wounding hits, he cannot make you take a las or plas wound on your first save.Clear the kill zone or make sure you make base contact with the hidden power fist. Models must attack who they are in base contact with instead of using the 2" of a squad member rule.Originally Posted by Caluin
*edit* One other thing to note: if you have an IC join a raptor squad, the raptors will lose the ability to hit and run unless you detach your IC first. Also, remember you can only have an IC join/leave a squad in the movement phase... So you'd have to leave the unit before the actual assault took place.
Last edited by moob; August 29th, 2006 at 03:48.
Hmmm... Well, from what I know, if you have equal to or over amount of wounds/ for the squad, then you roll saves for everyone.
If terrorists ask you "Do you have a bullet through your head?" say proudly, with dignity, "No, I do not. Go fish."
Catalysts of Iron/Iron Warriors 0/0/0
Soldiers of the Forge Worlds Clan Founder.
Blea. I didn't consider that. I won't be doing that, anyway, I suppose. But it was a good topic for discussion, I'd think.Originally Posted by moob
Don't forget that you don't have to actually have your HQ join the raptors. He could just draft behind them and then he couldn't be shot unless the enemy got behind you.
Also if you're carefull with your moving and the charging rules keeping the HQ behind also gives you more flexibility in exactly where the HQ contacts the enemy. What you want to do is contact the unit where the powerfist can't get you.