Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If the Drop pod is between your tac squads,dreads or termy squads and your enemy. Does your enemy have to take a target priority test ( leadership test) to shoot at those squads? Or can they ignore the DP completely ?
Also am i clear on the fact that if the enemy wants to assault you but has to pass within 1 " of a DP to get to you ..he can not assault ?
Lastly. If an enemy unit is falling back due to moral tests. Can they regroup if they are within 6" of a intact DP ?
I believe they can ignore the DP if you are next to it, but not if you are behind it (ie: the DP is directly between you and them). In which case they must simply say they are targeting units not vehicles.
To assault you they cannot move within 1" of the DP, though I rarely see this rule enforced(but the tau benefit fom it with their devilfish I hear).
The regrouping thing varies depending apon your opponent(some may do it automatically), but otherwise would be correct.
Remember that the open doors of a DP don't really count as the edge of the model though, the measurments shoul be taken from the edge of the armor instead.
P.S. shouldn't this post be in the rules forum?
Drop pods count as a normal unit in this regard as there are no special rules for them in the CM codex other than they are immobile. So yes, assuming in your example that the drop pod is yours and not your enemies - he would have to take a priority test to shoot past it.Originally Posted by zedsdead
And yes, unless they declare they are going to assault the drop pod in addition to another unit, they cannot get within 1" of it.
And yes again, they count as a unit (non-scoring, but a unit none-the-less), so they cannot regroup within 6" barring some special rule like entering synapse coverage.Not possible - you cannot declare you're ignoring a vehicle to shoot troop behind it and not take a priority test. In the BGB, it states that you can ignore small targets to shoot a large target. That's it - it doesn't mention ignoring vehicles for troops anywhere.Originally Posted by Carot
This means that a dev squad of 4 HB's needs to take a priority test to shoot at a bunch of firewarriors that they'd rip up if their devilfish (which they can't hurt from the front) is in between.
thanks for the clarification. Srry mods for the improper post.
Here is how I understand it....DP's count as vehicles. Once they shoot down, if another vehicle is behind it, then you have to roll LD to shoot the further away vehicle.
If a troop is near the vehicle it really doesn't matter, units can decide to shoot either vehicles or troops. The DP doesn't count towards target priority when firing at troops.
No you can't, and yes it does. You can only ignore infantry to shoot at vehicles - the reverse doesn't work.Originally Posted by Remiyo
You're right when checking the rules on p. 27, but it doesn't make any sense at all...
Than an all Bolter squad would have to make a test to shoot at an infantery unit instead of a tank that is closer... seems stupid to me and I never played it that way...
I do believe this is all relative to whom is closer.
If the troops are closer than the pod, the question becomes irrelavant.
If they are an equal distance away, the target would be decided by shooters choice, no target priority required, as the test is only needed to fire on units past other units.
However, you are not allowed to pre-measure, so you would have to agree apon a closer unit.
If the troops are behind or obscured by the pod a target priority would be required to fire apon them.
This is really a silly topic to discuss without a visual aid y'know.
Logically the marine player would put the pod between his troops and his enemy, forcing a test to be made.
thats how i discribe it Carot. I wanted clarification on target priority if the Pod is between your enemy and you. So yes the pod would be closest to the enemy.Originally Posted by Carot
Does anyone know where in the rules it describes the 1" rule and how it pertains to drop pods and charging between them if they are 1-3 inches apart. The May issue of WD describes it..however i would prefer to see it in the main rulebook.
Also where does it describe a drop pod as being a unit. Because ive had issues with people saying the DP is not a unit.