Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey, this might have to be moved to the rules question forum, but if not, I'll procede with my question.
If you pay the points for infiltration, do you HAVE to inifiltrate, and if not, then can you chose to infiltrate certian things? This decision would, of course, be made before the deployment phase [i.e. only sparse terrrain on your side, and lots on the opponents', but within 12" of his table edge.]
Thanks for your answers, Moose out.
This probably should be in the rules question forum like you said.
No where does it say you must to infiltrate, it says you may deploy using the infiltrators special rules. Yes, you do not have to infiltrate everything with infiltrate, you can set up as many or as little units with infiltrate as you want. Although, you will be at tactical advantage 95% of the time if you infiltrate everything as it will allow you to see how your opponent is set up.
Xbox Gamertag: x Helbrecht x
Thanks Helbrecht, I was just wondering, 'cause one game I got screwed by my opponent being a j@ck@ss about rules and saying I HAD to infiltrate If I paid for it. I had 2 pieces of terrin to Inifltrate on. Two. Basically, I got screwed by ordinace and concentrated firepower, leaving me with 1/3 of my force left on turn 2.
I've been playing alpha legion with everything but a squad of oblits that can infiltrate (who usually deep strike)... Most games I'll infiltrate everything - but if I know my opponent has infiltrators, too, I'll start 1 or 2 squads on the board to "claim" sections of the board.
Nothing sucks more than your opponent setting up his army, winning the roll to infiltrate first, and proceed to string out a squad of 20 kroot in a line forcing your whole army to deploy in a tiny section of the board.
Ouch.Originally Posted by moob
Moose,Originally Posted by Ã†ther-MÃ˜Ã˜SE
Also remember, your infiltators don't have to infiltrate forward of your deployment zone; you can deploy them anywhere (so long as its at least 12" away if they're out of LOS, or 18" away if they can be seen). This means you can set them up your deployment zone (because its almost always at least 18" away from your enemy), if you don't like your options out in "no man's land". Thus you shouldn't have been forced to conform to those two pieces of terrain you mentioned (if this was all that was on your side of the board at all, then you probably need to play with more terrain).
The above is helpful to remember if things don't look good by the time you get to the end of deployment when its time for you both to set your infiltrating units. As the others have already stated, you can always chose to set them up normally, e.g. deploy SM Scouts as Troops, or SW Scouts as Elites, etc.
Like Valerian said, infiltrators doesn't necesarily have to be away from the rest of the guys. Sometimes its worth it just to have your men set up last. This helps a lot personally with my broodlord as I can look at my options and see how to balance it out or what to hit while my friend who plays IG ussually has way more squads than me so I always end up setting up all my guys and then he still has 4 squads left.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey