Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can someone please tell me could an indirect fire barrage weapon target a specific independent character (no retinue, not joined squad)? I've been playing the way that no shooting weapon may target IC unless it's the nearest model to the firer.. but this guy who I played against yesterday insist that a barrage weapon is 'guess-on-spot' so it ignores all IC rules... :ninja: is he right?
No, there's no rule for barrage weapons that states it ignores the rules for targetting ICs. If your IC isn't attached to a squad but is standing close to one, he can, however, put it on a regular troop model so that your IC is under the template.
As moob here said..Originally Posted by moob
He still cannot actually target your IC if he isn't the closest unit, but the template can be placed on another model in the same unit and hit them both, and can also scatter onto the IC, which the IC will then take the damage. They can't claim to be actually shooting directly at the IC, however.
That's what I thought.. thanks.
You wanted to know a little bit more though, first of all it is completely illegal to target a spot and not put the hole on a model. The only exception I know of is the whirlwinds castellan mines, which states that you can target enemy models, or open space, if you target open space then YOU CAN NOT have any models initially under the template.
So, here is the other thing, the only way he can target your IC is
1: Necron when your guy is already inside a unit (joined)
2: When your guy is in a unit he can place the whole on anyone in that unit. Of course the wounds come from that unit (thus you can avoid the wounds)
3: You can fire it at a unit that is close to an unjoined IC, if it scatters onto the IC the IC takes a hit.