Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Although I tried to search in the forum/rulebokk, I couldn't find anything similar; nevertheless I'm sure it's covered somewhere (and I'm just to stupid to find it).
My first question concerns disembarking from a Dark Eldar Raider. I know that I may move 12 Inch and still disembark (2 Inch), but where exactely I'm supposed to place my models? Does this mean 2 Inch away from the base or 2 Inch away from the edge of he vehicle. This can make quite a difference. Further, is it even allowed to disembark beneath the Raider; not on/under the base, but I can (technichally) place a Warrior beneath the front part of a Raider.
When I look at the picture on page 62, I tend to believe that I am allowed to meassure from the edge, but is it the same here?
A second question concerns Combat Drugs (Archon) again. Is it possible to give an Archon who is accompanied by a retinue the Assault 12 Inch result? Of course, you have to keep unit-coherency and can't move away from your retinue, but is this even allowed? Possible scenario: "Archon - 1 Inch - Incubus - 7 Inch - Ork". The Incubus wouldn't reach CC, but the Archon with 12 Inch would be able to.
As far as I can tell, the answer is "yes." You must, however, remain in unit coherency...
The only problem I can see with this is the simple rule of "every model in a unit is limited by the speed of the slowest model." I'm not sure if this rule applies to the assault move, as well, however.. if so, then you won't be able to take the 12" assault range.
Page 62 of the Warhammer 40k Rulebook.
Read the caption of the picture on page 62. Then, read the paragraph under 'Access Points'. That should give you your answer.
But, to save you the hassle of looking it up yourself, the answer is, sense open-topped vehicles do not have specific access points, models can embark or disembark within 2" of any point of the vehicle.
Because this is a Skimmer I believe it should fall under the 'keep it together' rule. Or simply always use the same measurement rule; so if you intend to disembark 2" from the side of the Raider count range to the side of the Raider and measure range from the muzzle of the Darklance, or just do it all from the base.
Veni Vidi Variant
I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.
The spikey ones go faster.
98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.
Saga of the Ages. Click it.
Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.
Thanks for the answers so far. I'm glad that the part with the Raiders works like that. It just always makes the difference between coming into CC or not and we were arguing long time concerning this topic.
But there's still something unclear to me:
Is it even possible to stand beneath the Raider?
What about the Archon that wants to take Speed?
I would say no, as you cannot stack models.Originally Posted by JuleIt is not possible. for the reason mentioned by Lost Nemesis earlier. you cannot mix different speeds/movement modes in a unit. you have to use the slowest one.Originally Posted by Jule
Last edited by Lamenter; October 5th, 2006 at 16:17.
Shut up and play.
If you do go by the base, then assaults must tough the base, as will measurements for disembarking. Keep it consistant and you'll be fine.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
This is covered in the new BGB Errata:By the rules, yes. As the model is mounted, thus all measurements are done from the BASE. However, you will find a great many people that like to play with the idea that a flying base isn't a base, and they measure everything from the hull. Discuss this pregame, and figure out how you're going to play it before it becomes a problem.EDIT: Cleaned up the quote spacingQ. When measuring distances to/from a skimmer
vehicle, do you count the hull of the model or do you
count the base it is on?
A. The rules on page 6 (Bases) say that distances
should be measured to/from the base, except for
vehicles without a base, when you should use the hull.
However, this would prove absolutely unplayable in the
case of large Skimmers (like a Wave Serpent, a Devilfish
or a Monolith). The ruling in this case must be that for all
vehicles (except Walkers), distances are measured
to/from the hull, while for all non-vehicle models (and
Walkers) distances are measured to/from the base.
Thanks for you fast and clear answers :-)
Now I've got some other questions, although it's nothing about the Raiders anymore I just use this thread again.
-) I bought my DE Codex second-hand. What I didn't know when I bought it was that there has been a Codex Update (quite a long time ago). Wych Weapons where changed, for example, right?
I found the update somewhere on the Internet, but I can't remember where exactely. Does GW provide the update on their page too? Because my mates won't believe me when I say they are official updates. Or do I have to buy the "new" Codex?
-) The new update says Wyches get their 4+ Inv. whilst fighting in an assault. And everyone agrees that they get the 4+ all the time during CC (not only when charging). I even asked this here some time ago.
When I read about the Mask of the Damned, it says that an enemy that wishes to assault the MotD needs to take a LD test. But in this case it seems that only the single turn when the enemy wishes to charge is meant (at least that's what I find when I search after MotD in the DE part of the forum).
Why does the same word: "assault" mean a whole CC here and a single charge later? Or did I get something wrong (my mother tongue isn't English btw, so it may be a bit harder for me ...)