Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In a recent game my DA Assault Squad counter attacked a squad of space wolf bikers but in order to get close enough to reach them I had to land them in terrain at the end of the 12" move. My opponent pointed out that they all needed to make a difficult terrain test and that I must roll a dice for each model in the squad. Given that it contained a Chaplain and a vet sergeant with a power fist, I rolled a seperate dice for each, losing my powerfist and subsequently the fight...
After the game another friend pointed out that you should indded remove models as per normal casualties, i.e. take the worst, least useful model from the squad. A check-up in the rulebook revealed that the second ruling was indeed the correct method.
My question is, should an IC that has joined the squad roll seperately to see if he suffers a wound, or simply add another dice to the total and remove a basic assault marine instead?
Something in me says that you should roll separately for IC's. You want to see if they are wounded after all.
But for the Sergeant, I would just throw him in with the rest of the dice as you said.
Its a bit like saying I rolled separate dice for the guy with the Auspex and then he died so I lost it, or something like that.
Someone will probably dispute this though
But I call to God, and the LORD saves me.
I think Independant Characters should roll for dangerous terrain seperately from the squad, but due to the Skilled Riders ability, they will get a re-roll, so they should be relatively safe.
I can't find anything that definitively says they should roll seperately, it would seem to be quite sensible to me. Not that being sensible has any effect on GW rule-making...
minus_t's painting log! Now with: More Wolves and Blue Robots!
Last updated 09/01/11
"Never before has another man made me want to go out and buy vasaline"~The Paint Monkey
"All I can remeber is Hazard stripes and -T's dusty brushes. ~danjones87
I would let you roll your IC roll independently because they have the skilled rider ability, however the wounds are dealt like regular wounds there is no reason for you to remove a sergeant unless that is the only model you can remove.
Hmm... then again I might be wrong if the IC is joined to the unit, as wounds would be spread out equally. In the rare case that you rolled ALL ones, you would have to deal a wound to the IC. I really don't know how the wounds get allocated, and I'm not sure there really is a rule to govern this.
My best guess would be to work this out with your opponent, and at worse 4+ it. Sorry I can't be more helpful, but it seems like there is no specific rule for dangerous terrain for IC joined to a group.
Last edited by Remiyo; October 18th, 2006 at 00:16.
roll the squad as as one large group and pull out causalties like you would for any other lose. I would think the chaplin should ber singled out even as a squad memeber just beacuse he is so dang important.
Thought for the day: A Burning Heretic , Will brighten the Decor of any room.