Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
After a poor performance from 4 Assault Cannon/ Heavy Bolter Landspeeders, i've been looking to think up a more anti-tank version. Using Dark Angels, i considered using the Assault Cannon/ Multi-melta version in the Codex. Seeing the points this will likely cost and not being 100% it's still legal (??), I looked to the Tactics section on speeders and noticed the 'Tornado Pattern, Heavy Flamer and Multi-Melta' section.
Now obviously this looks useless at first but i'm wondering: As you must fire all weapons at the same target, do you have to use the Heavy Flamer if you fired at a tank 12 inches away.
I.e. could you position the Landspeeder it to hit the tank with the Multi-Melta and fire the Heavy Flamer, scorching models under it even though it obviously wouldn't reach the tank?
Or is this twisting the rules a little?
unfortunately this is the same thing that came up the other day with a hellhound. if it misses the target it misses completely. its like when you fire a missile launcher frag and miss the template is assumed to miss outright. though there is nothing to stop you flaming next to your own tank, ie. AV12 cant be hurt by a heavy flamer so if the template goes over AV12 then never mind, as you cant shoot if it will kill your own men, but as you cant hurt it...
seemed fluffy and i did it in my last game just seemed a little beardy after id thought about it so probs wont do it again!
Flamer or not, it must be aimed at the same enemy. Sorry.
But, being ravenwing, it is still completely legal to take the Assault Cannon/ Multi-Melta Combo. I little pricey, but very much worth it especially considering the Tank Busting power its toting.
So, wether you rend or melt that tank to slag, the person will still be dumbfounded. Happy hunting.
1. You normally declare a target and then measure. If you're short, then you do not hit (I believe the BGB says "you fire and the rounds fall short") and that unit cannot select a different target. So, since your flamer does not have range to target then it acts like it never fired, so NO.
2. You fire the flamer, it does not reach the target, but it scorches whatever it does come into contact with. Templates are one of the few weapons that can hit multiple units - YES
3. You are within range of the tank (8-9in or so) and the flamer touches it, so it's completely legit to fire, and anything inbetween would get scorched, so YES again.
I would say, 3 is definately legal, 1 is also the way your opponent may argue with RAW, and 2 is possible via interpretation.
1 Is correct, 3 is correct. 2 Does not work. It's the same as in an assault. It's not 'oh hey I started shotting and it doesn't make it' it's 'oh dang they are too far away, too bad.' I know it doesn't really make much sense, what with the weapons being crewed by different people, they should be able to shoot at different targets, but in order to streamline the rules, they made evrything able to shoot at one target. Flamers, etc. are exceptions.
Which is why I think less weapons on more platforms is better than a single tank overloaded with weapons. Also, try to make a tank focused on a single goal, rather than all around. It's better to be proficient at one thing, than inneffective in multiple areas.
Gareth is the person I try to impress when I convert and paint.
I figured the multi-melta load out is just a one shot before dying job, so was wondering if wacking a flamer on was a good idea. If the opponent has troops all over it then it sounds good, but this is unlikely. Reckon i might give the DA only 'Giant-Slayer Pattern' a blast. Should be interesting...
Thanks for the thoughts chaps!
I can speak from experience, as I have used the multi-melta / heavy flamer loadout on many different occasions. I like it so much, I ALWAYS add the heavy flamer. It's only 10 more points, and makes the speeder so much more capable. I know the rule is don't mix duties, but in an all-comers list, it's common for you oppnent to have very few, if any tanks. Then what is your speeder good for? killing 2 guys every 3 turns? WHOOPIE!!! Also, it's common for there to be a juicy infantry target about halfway between your speeder and that tank. You can't reach the tank this turn unless you turbo...so you can't fire anyway, but if you only go 12" there is a unit that would be tasty if cooked to a nice golden brown...
As I said, I use this config every time I put a Multa-Melta on a speeder. To keep it effective though, just remember that it's job is still to pop tanks, and everything you do should be to that end...but at least once a game you can fire the Flamer and take nothing away from it's tank hunting, as in the example above. And at only 10 points, you only need to fire it once to more then pay for itself.
For what it's worth, I usually field two LSTs of the HB and AC variety and one of the HF and MM variety.
The nice thing about the HF/ MM speeder is that I rarely play someone who deploys tanks in front of their infantry, so I rarely get a shot off with the MM on first turn.
However, a lot of folks field some kind of light infiltrators- SM scouts, eldar rangers, etc. in some kind of cover in front of their lines.
The HF/ MM speeder rolls up, toasts them (usually to the point where a morale check is involved as these units are typically small), then continues on to the tanks in the following turns.
Effective from turn 1 on. Sure, it's dual duty, but it's 10 points man. Plus, most folks are so worried about the two other speeders, it always makes its points back.
Sorry to get off topic, but yeah, I get a lot of mileage out of my HF/ MM speeder.
We all carry on,
When our brothers in arms are gone.
So raise your glass high
For tomorrow we die,
And return from the ashes you call.
I'm at home now and looking through the DA codex. I can't see the option for an Assault Cannon and Multi-Melta combo.... am i blind?