Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Last week, i played a game where i had a squad of Orks inside cover. my Chaos opponent assaulted me with a Bloodthirster, and i was forced to fall backafter i failed the leadership test. then i wondered if the 10 initiative counts for the Sweeping Advance rolls. nobody at the store knew, and the GW rules line was closed, so we did it the fair way and rolled to see weather i would get the 10 initiative for sweeping advance.
Now im wondering, if any of you can clarify if you do get the 10 initiative for sweeping advance when retreating from cover.
It's not something specified in the rules, but think it can be deduced that the init bonus ends after combat. Plus, the initiative bonus is not your guys suddenly becoming quicker. It's a representation of you being ready to recieve a charge.
So, logically (I know, not always the very good way to make a ruleing, but often the best we have) I would say no.
Without the rulebook here in front of me it's the best answer I can give. Maybe someone else can provides an actual rules reference one way or the other.
Pg 43 BGB under "Sweeping Advances" - read the first note in that section.
Based on that, the answer is no.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
You always use the models' basic initiative for this purpose.
So any bonuses you get (from furious charge or cover and so on) do not apply.
Shut up and play.