Can a Jetbike Autarch use Fleet? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 62
  1. #1
    Mr. Tau onlainari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    299 (x7)

    Can a Jetbike Autarch use Fleet?

    So can the Autarch, mounted on a jetbike, still fleet? Common sense seems to get smacked in the face on this one.

    Quote Originally Posted by rikimaru View Post
    You have the option for instance of infiltrating, outflanking, pillboxing, or anti assault.


    And that's just with the Kroot.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Fury of the Ages Solo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    AUSTRALIA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    753
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    91 (x2)

    I can't imagine that they can fleet. P40 of the codex says to refer to the BGB for details of the movement of jetbikes.
    This page (54 in mine) outlines exactly what a jetbike can do, and as Fleet is not on there, I'd say that you can't. The only difference for the Eldar is the 6" extra move in the assault phase if you wish.
    But I call to God, and the LORD saves me.
    Psalm 55:16

  4. #3
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Nothing stops you, technically. Even on a bike, the autarch's rules still include fleet of foot - using a bike does not prohibit the use of this special rule.

    It's dumb, but it's legal.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Jakester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Canada!
    Age
    28
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    Well, if you think about it, its fleet of foot, not fleet of hover-pad thingy.

    Sure, the rules don't say you can't, but they also don't say you can.
    :shifty:
    I play my 40k with friendly fire.
    Finally fixed the link!

  6. #5
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Jakester View Post
    Well, if you think about it, its fleet of foot, not fleet of hover-pad thingy.
    Actually, the rule is properly named Fleet. Not Fleet of X, just Fleet.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jakester View Post
    Sure, the rules don't say you can't, but they also don't say you can.
    Sure they do. The rules say an Autarch can use the Fleet rule. An Autarch on a Jetbike is still an Autarch. Sounds to me like the rules are saying he can make use of the Fleet rule.


  7. #6
    Senior Member Lamenter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Age
    40
    Posts
    571
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Caluin View Post
    Sure they do. The rules say an Autarch can use the Fleet rule. An Autarch on a Jetbike is still an Autarch. Sounds to me like the rules are saying he can make use of the Fleet rule.
    On first though I would think he cannot use it. As the Jet bike rules don;t allow it.

    But the more I think about it, you are probably right. The two rules do not contradict each other. So the Autarch CAN use Fleet while on an Eldar Jetbike.
    Shut up and play.

  8. #7
    Mr. Tau onlainari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    299 (x7)

    No he can't. It's just that the rules say he can.
    Quote Originally Posted by rikimaru View Post
    You have the option for instance of infiltrating, outflanking, pillboxing, or anti assault.


    And that's just with the Kroot.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Sinjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    New York
    Age
    43
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by onlainari View Post
    No he can't. It's just that the rules say he can.
    I'm really not trying to put you down, or sound like an ass (ok, maybe I'm trying to sound like an ass a little) but that has to be the single most unintelligent thing I have seen posted on these boards.

    And in response to the question, I don't have the Eldar Codex, but it seems to me that if the Eldar Codex says to see the BGB in regards to the way jetbikes move, then you have to follow all the movement rules for the Jetbike. If the Auroch had it's own jetbike movement rules, it would not say 'See BGB'. And while fleet is a special rule, it's a special MOVEMENT rule. So you either use the Aurochs move, and can fleet, or you use the jetbikes move.

  10. #9
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Sinjin View Post
    I'm really not trying to put you down, or sound like an ass (ok, maybe I'm trying to sound like an ass a little) but that has to be the single most unintelligent thing I have seen posted on these boards.
    That's just his style. While it's not properly explained, Onlainari has a point. He's trying to say that while the rules lead one to believe that you can do it, the intent was always that you could not. It's just a mistake on part of the Codex writers.


  11. #10
    Senior Member Djones9916's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    St. Louis
    Age
    32
    Posts
    659
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x2)

    Do Guardians on Jetbikes specifically state that they cannot use the Fleet rule?


    My opinion on this subject is that common sense should override RAW. If your going to get into it like that, then it should also be legal to Fleet in your opponents shooting phase. The rules technically allow it, but your opponents gonna hate your guts if you try it. Is that worth it?
    Nights Justice Space Marines
    Eldar Eth Kariel Craftworld
    Spear of Kurnous - High Elf Expeditionary Army

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts