Landing Skimmers - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Part time Pirate Lord Lucias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x3)

    Landing Skimmers

    Hey All,

    Just after playing the Tau I have a few quesitons...

    If a devilfish (skimmer transport) wants to drop off people does it have to land?

    Next question..

    If I stun a skimmer (meaning it cant move for that turn) does that mean it lands for the turn?

    Last question..

    When a skimmer deploys in the first round is he counted as been landed? (for example can he be hidden in the jungle for the first round)

    Thanks in advance..


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    A simple answer to all three questions. Skimmers only count as "landed" in two occassions. One is far more common than the other.

    First occassion is when it's Immoblized. When that happens, and it's still alive, then it counts as a normal vehicle for the rest of the game.

    Second is Tau Landing Gear. When used, the vehicle can't move, but counts as 'grounded.'

    In all other situations, a Skimmer is always 'off the ground' so to speak.


  4. #3
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Or to put Caluin's explanation in plain english... no, no and no.
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  5. #4
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x7)

    Just to clarify on the third question... Although the Skimmer isn't treated as "landed" on the first turn, that doesn't stop You from deploying behind terrain to be out of LOS or Obscured as Skimmers certainly count Obscured and out of LOS the same as any other vehicle when behind terrain.
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

  6. #5
    Senior Member Lamenter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Age
    40
    Posts
    571
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x2)

    As stated previously - no, no and no.

    Skimmers never "land" in 40k, unless you are using Tau.

    All other skimmers just get shot at and crash, float or sink down slowly (in that case of Necrons). Please check the basic rulebook for they are traeted in that case.
    Shut up and play.

  7. #6
    Part time Pirate Lord Lucias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Uzi-99 View Post
    Just to clarify on the third question... Although the Skimmer isn't treated as "landed" on the first turn, that doesn't stop You from deploying behind terrain to be out of LOS or Obscured as Skimmers certainly count Obscured and out of LOS the same as any other vehicle when behind terrain.
    Out of line of sight? I thought skimmers could never be out of line of sight being that they are flying... unless maybe behind another skimmer but then you could argue that you could shot under it etc...

    Being that I play DH, WH and IG... I hate skimmers (only because I'm jealous)

  8. #7
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Luke Harvey View Post
    Out of line of sight? I thought skimmers could never be out of line of sight being that they are flying... unless maybe behind another skimmer but then you could argue that you could shot under it etc...

    Being that I play DH, WH and IG... I hate skimmers (only because I'm jealous)
    As far as area terrain goes, you can never shoot through more than 6" of it, unless the unit you are shooting with has some special rule (i.e., Kroot and jungles).

    Skimmers don't block LOS, even to eachother, so you can't hide skimmers behind other skimmers.

    Can't recall if their "flying" makes it so that normal LOS-blocking terrain block LOS to them, but I'm pretty sure it does.. too tired to check, at the moment.

  9. #8
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Luke Harvey View Post
    Out of line of sight? I thought skimmers could never be out of line of sight being that they are flying...
    --- A common misconception. See the rules on 4thEd page 61, right column, Skimmers, and it should be pretty clear when the Skimmer can be shot at freely. Note that it's the only case when it can be shot at freely, and otherwise the normal rules for LOS and Obscurement apply. =)

    Simple example: Skimmer hovering above forest = can be shot. Skimmer behind forest = can't be shot.

    If You have a big enough wall (WYSIWYG terrain), that will also block LOS... Terrain, Monstrous Creatures, Vehicles, etc will provide Obscurement/block LOS as normal while the Skimmer is behind them, as the rules mentioned above do not mention exemptions, just a specific case when the Skimmer can be shot at.
    Last edited by Uzi-99; November 15th, 2006 at 15:53.
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

  10. #9
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    Uzi is right, the rules are pretty clear and basically pertain to what you have just moved OVER
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  11. #10
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Luke Harvey View Post
    Hey All,

    Just after playing the Tau I have a few quesitons...

    If a devilfish (skimmer transport) wants to drop off people does it have to land?

    Next question..

    If I stun a skimmer (meaning it cant move for that turn) does that mean it lands for the turn?

    Last question..

    When a skimmer deploys in the first round is he counted as been landed? (for example can he be hidden in the jungle for the first round)

    Thanks in advance..
    When a skimmer is stunned it drifts, it doesn't land or crash. If it is immobilized it will crash if had previously moved over 6" or "land" if not.
    Just out of curiousity, whats next? Maybe you can make an issue about the fact that GW didn't define the action of 'rolling' a D6 to actually mean dropping it in such a manner as to produce a random result; thus making it perfectly acceptable to just put them down with the face up of your choice?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts