Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was reading through the 40k rules today and came across the section about models with multiple one handed weapons getting an extra cumulative attack in CC. Does the codex need to specify whether or not the model gains an extra attack or is it automatically assumed if the model is equipped with such weapons? Like the Howling Banshees carry a Shuriken Pistol and Power Weapon so do they gain +1 attack in CC even though it does not specify in the codex?
That's covered by the general rules, 4thEd page 40, left column, "Attacks", third paragraph: "+1 Two Weapons".
The Codex need not specify anything, except if the 1-h weapon/item in question in fact doesn't gain the extra attack even when combined with another (the SM Storm Shield comes to mind).
Last edited by Uzi-99; November 14th, 2006 at 19:17.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
Rules never need to be specified in the respective codex. The rules in the main book apply to everyone. If the rules ARE different, that is when you will see it in the codex.
Ok I thought I was done with this post but I have a couple more questions.
In the new Eldar codex it says that the Howling Banshee Exarch can take Mirrorswords which count as having an extra hand weapon that grants +2 instead of the usual +1 attacks. Does that mean the Exarch would get 4 attacks all together and 5 in the initial assaulting phase?
Also when taking either the Executioner or the Triskele do you only have the 2 base attacks? Can you still use your Shuriken Pistol if you take one of these options? Because it says it only replaces the power weapon.
Some of these questions may sound retarded but my buddy and I have different opinions on which is the correct way to perceive the rules so Id like a second opinion.
Ok, let's see,
Banshee Exarch , before any wargear has 2 base attacks. Sooo, for adding the mirror swords it goes to 4 attacks total, +1 for charging.
For the Executioner, it's a 2-handed wep. so no attack bonus there.
the Triskele........doesn't mention wether it's one handed or 2.....but it says it replaces the power sword and counts as a power weapon.....so I'll have to say it counts as a 1 handed wep. So she gets a +1 attack bonus for 2 CC weps (she still has the pistol on her).
That's really rather sloppy on GW's part, they should have specified that.
So it should go:
w/executioner = 2 attacks
w/triskele = 3 attacks
w/mirrorswords = 4 attacks
All get +1 bonus on the charge.
Hope that helps.
www.HIGHBATTALION.com - it's a link, you click it.
"The world will be a better place when the world's resources are used for Giant Robots."
Combat weapons are one-handed unless otherwise stated (like the executioner).
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Ok cool thats exactly what I thought. Thanks for the input again guys.