Hunting Lance question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    29
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Hunting Lance question

    The Hunting Lance on the Rough Rider Squadron states that it can only be used in the first close combat that the unit is involved in.

    Does "first close combat" mean only the first round of close combat, or does it mean the entire combat from the time they are engaged until the time one disengages?

    (I know that the +2 S/I only applies on the round you charge, but what about the ignore-armor-saves ability?)


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Illustrator Extraordinair Adrian MalSeraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New York State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex319 View Post
    The Hunting Lance on the Rough Rider Squadron states that it can only be used in the first close combat that the unit is involved in.

    Does "first close combat" mean only the first round of close combat, or does it mean the entire combat from the time they are engaged until the time one disengages?

    (I know that the +2 S/I only applies on the round you charge, but what about the ignore-armor-saves ability?)
    Only in the first round the unit is involved in.

    The description of the hunting lance is that when it makes contact on a surface or the fleshy bits of an enemy, the tip explodes.

    Now, this is what I suspect gives the initiative bonus and power weapon status.

    Plus, it only makes sense. The rough rider isn't likely to carry more tips around, as the lance is likely to be damaged from the explosion, and it wouldn't be reasonable to go back to the supply base to get another lance. It's too far off.

    So, with this reasoning, I come to the conclusion that it's only during the first round of combat the unit takes part in does the special effect happen.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Lamenter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Age
    40
    Posts
    571
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x2)

    The explosive tip is a one-use item.
    So you only can use the bonus and ignore armor rules the first time you use it and that's it.

    Afterwards they can clobber the enemy with it, but it is basically a fancy stick.
    Shut up and play.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts