2D6 for AP? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2D6 for AP?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x1)

    2D6 for AP?

    When rolling 2D6 for Armour Penetration with say a Melta or a Monstrous Creature, do you roll two and take the highest or add the number together? I've thumbed through the BGB a few times and can't find a listing.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member PoptartsNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    The Eastern Fringe
    Age
    32
    Posts
    913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    81 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by EcchuBlessu View Post
    When rolling 2D6 for Armour Penetration with say a Melta or a Monstrous Creature, do you roll two and take the highest or add the number together? I've thumbed through the BGB a few times and can't find a listing.
    You add them together. So, the average role of a Bio-Acid Spore Mine is a 10, while the average roll of a strength 10 Carnifex is a 17.

  4. #3
    Senior Member bluealien 47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    area 47
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -3 (x0)

    the only time i can really think of when rolling 2 D6's and choosing the highest is scattering for ordanance weapons every other time they're added together.
    In the name of god impure souls of the living dead shal be banished into eturnal damnation. Amen.

  5. #4
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    Just bear in mind, that a monstrous creature which uses a different attack other than it's natural monstrous one will LOSE the 2D6 bonus.

    For example:

    A carnifex uses his rending claws on a tank:
    Strength + 1D6 (and prey for rend!)

    Depressed at his poor tank busting ability, the carnifex sits on the tank:
    Str + 2D6
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  6. #5
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Karmoon View Post
    A carnifex uses his rending claws on a tank:
    Strength + 1D6 (and prey for rend!)
    I can't tell if that was an intended pun or not.


  7. #6
    Senior Member PoptartsNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    The Eastern Fringe
    Age
    32
    Posts
    913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    81 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Karmoon View Post
    Just bear in mind, that a monstrous creature which uses a different attack other than it's natural monstrous one will LOSE the 2D6 bonus.

    For example:

    A carnifex uses his rending claws on a tank:
    Strength + 1D6 (and prey for rend!)

    Depressed at his poor tank busting ability, the carnifex sits on the tank:
    Str + 2D6
    Eh, if the Carnie gets a '6' it's penned anyway. It's just so much easier to do with 2d6.

  8. #7
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Caluin View Post
    I can't tell if that was an intended pun or not.
    It was.. but it was pretty crappy. I probably deserve some bad rep either way for bad spelling or atrocious jokes... :x
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by bluealien 47 View Post
    the only time i can really think of when rolling 2 D6's and choosing the highest is scattering for ordanance weapons every other time they're added together.
    And for ordinance penetration rolls....


    But yes, for close-range meltas / monstrous creatures, you add the 2d6 together as was previously stated.

  10. #9
    Senior Member Sinjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    New York
    Age
    43
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    When the rules say 2d6, you add them together, that is what 2d6 means, unless the book specifically says otherwise for that roll.

  11. #10
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    How many different ways can we all give the same answer? Let us count the ways!

    One! One answer to the question!

    Two! Two answers to the question!

    Three! Three answers.... okay, enough Sesame Street.


Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts