Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is quite a stupid question, but two guys at my gamestore this evening got me thinking.
Suppose I have an Aspiring Champion with Power Fist + Bolt pistol. He has a base of 4 Attacks (not true,I'll use it just as example), gets to 5 due to the pistol. All the other CSM of the unit get killed and my AC gets charged from some I2 or I3 Models. I'm sure he's going to die if he'll be using the Power Fist to deal his 5 attacks, so is it possible to use the other close combat weapon to hit , to benefit from his higher Initiative ?
Moreover, using the same 4+1 Attacks AC, is it allowed to deal 2 "normal" attacks + 3 Power Fist ones ?
On page 46 of the 40k Manual, second paragraph, it reports a pretty clear example of how this actually works: you can only use one special CC weapon per turn, while the other will give you the +1 attack bonus. It sounds fair, but does it work for all weapons, including pistols, khornate's chain axes etc etc or just with special weapons ?
As far as I now, it works like this:
Power Fist + Energy Weapon : 4 base attacks, + 1 for the extra cc weapon, each turn you can deal 5 Power Fist attacks or 5 Energy Weapon attacks.
This evening I happened to see a model with Power Fist + Pistol which had 4 attacks. I though it was supposed to deal 4 Power Fist attacks each turn, but the guy playing it kept using 2 power fist attacks+2 normal attacks. It looked really weird to me x___x
Is it possible then to equip a Khornate's AC with Power Fist AND Khorn's Axe, getting the +1 attacks bonus sicne they're 2 CC weapons, and choose what weapon's best to use each turn ? I would never do it due to the cost, I'd just want to know if it's allowed, maybe it could be a nice way to surprise a well known enemy who expects me to play only 1 kind of special weapon.
All attacks from a model must be made using the same weapon each round. The person you saw splitting his attacks was wrong. There is only one exception to this, and he's a Special Character.
You never need to use your special attacks. You may always elect to strike at your normal init with your normal number of attacks with no bonuses, if you elect. This is useful if you have a Powerfist and want to strike before Init 1, but don't mind the loss of strength and power weapon ability.
Chaos space Marine with BP + cc weapon
Upgrade him to Khornate's Berserker with BP + Khornate's Chain Axe
Promote him to AC
Replace KCA with Khorn's Axe
Replace BP with Power Fist
I get the chance to use either the fist or the axe at full attacks.
Is it possible to state:"I upgrade my AC with Power Fist, will replace the bolter pistol with it so that if I want to strike at his own initiative he'll have the Khornate's chain axe" ?
Simply flip to page 46, and point them to the second paragraph. If you get that "<random skill>" reply, ask your opponent for a reference. Be kindly about it - they will either be the type of player to go ahead and show you, or the type who kicks and screams and refuses flatout.
I don't think you should be playing against the second kind.
When chatting\playing with people I always ask for special rules used by their units, but since I was just an observer of that game I prefered not to interfere and let them play, especially because it was really weird. That thing was going at his own disadvantage,he was in melee with a few Necrons and was using 2 energy weapons+1 normal attack instead 3 energy hits,I just thought it was some kind of special rule that didn't allow him to use his sword in a proper way >_>
Some people don't like this, being of the mindset that the power weapon should *not* confer abilities to an attack that's obviously supposed to be some sort of pistol whip. What, does the pistol somehow gain magical special properties because you're a veteran sarge? Is it some sort of new "power-pistol" salvaged from scraps on mars?
Most games I do are played with the RAW, but I have no problem playing someone who requests the "You attack with the weapon that gives you that attack" rule. "Every attack is the same" just seems like an oversimplification for people too cheap to invest the buck and a half it takes to buy some six-siders of a different color, and also makes power weapons undercosted IMHO.