Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In a recent game I played as Black Templar versus some Raven Guard. On the top of the 6th turn, his bikes were 1" from my Initiate squad and shot into me, killing one neophyte. Since I had a Master of Sanctity attached to that squad I passed my leadership and consolidated into him with Righteous Zeal. Are his bikes considered locked in combat during his turn, and thus we must resolve that combat during his turn?
The rules for consolidation state (pg44 p4) "The move may be used to contact enemy units and lock them in combat, but the consolidatiing unit must maintain unit coherency and does not count as charging when combat is worked out next turn." My opponent interpreted this to mean that combat would not be resolved during his turn, even though the consolidation happened before his assault phase.
How do other Black Templar players resolve this? We were in a GW store at the time, so my opponent asked a sales rep (who was really a fantasy guy, didn't know much 40k) and the store rep went with my opponent, saying the combat that I was locked into would not be resolved until my turn, effectivly removing 1 phase of combat for me. I've emailed the GW rules laywers on this and will post when I get they interpretation.
I would believe that the CC would have to be resolved by him during his assault phase IMO.
I'm guessing this was 6th turn and you aleady had yours?? trying to take down his unit in CC to nab the win???
SON'S OF TERRA......... Your defeat, its the emperor's will
He went first, so in the 6th turn I consolidated into him during his shooting phase. If I had both his assault phase and my assault phase I would have either tied or won. Definately a game deciding rule change...
I just spoke with a GW rep on the phone (apparently they won't answer rules questions via email, probably a good idea) - since the Black Templar consolidation move would put me in base-to-base contact with the enemy, they would be locked in combat during their assault. So during their assault phase we would resolve that combat normally. Time to go kill!
Zeal propels the unit (having lost a man or two, and then passing the moral test) forward D6. since the bikes were 1in away they are gonna get hit. the codex says to treat zeal like a "massacre result", ie you can lock units into CC... as if you had an ongoing CC from previous round. therefore as I understand it/play it, nobody gets charge bonus attacks, nobody gets cover initiative bonus, chaplains do not get their re-roll to hit on "turn they charge into combat". Zeal happens at end of opponents SHOOTING phase, therefore feel free to resolve CC in the very next phase (Ops' assault phase).