Reserves - Moving and Assaulting - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member Havarel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Nottingham - home of Warhammer World
    Age
    30
    Posts
    368
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Reserves - Moving and Assaulting

    Hi

    This debate came up in my latest game, and having consulted the rulebook, and still having my question unanswered, I turn to the wise sages of this forum.

    So, when a unit enters play having been in reserve (as in coming on from a table edge, not deep striking), can the unit move and assault?

    Hive Fleet Fuzzy Bunny: Lots and lots of points of Nids (4000pts+)
    The Chapter of the Damned: 5500pts of Dark Angels
    The Children of Fulgrim: 5-6000pts of Emperors Children
    The Kabal of the Bloodied Claw: 2000pts of Dark Eldar

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Havarel View Post
    Hi

    This debate came up in my latest game, and having consulted the rulebook, and still having my question unanswered, I turn to the wise sages of this forum.

    So, when a unit enters play having been in reserve (as in coming on from a table edge, not deep striking), can the unit move and assault?
    Certainly. Under the rules for RESERVES,you'll find all applicable rules. In short, they count as moving. That's it. So they can move up to their normal max, shoot, and assault as normal.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  4. #3
    Senior Member Forsaken2544's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    U.S. NAVY: Italy
    Age
    35
    Posts
    436
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    59 (x1)

    Just to expand on what Tarzen said;

    You move in from your table edge (Or wherever it is specified in the mission), so you count the table edge as the start of your movement.

    Basically, you can't put them anywhere in your deployment zone when they become available and then move them.

    The only reason I bring this up, is because I have seen it done. :wacko:
    * "I'm Significant!" -screamed the dust speck
    * "Call me old fashioned, but an evil ascension to power just isn't the same without someone chanting faux Latin in the background."

  5. #4
    Tomb King medic_4077's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Age
    45
    Posts
    671
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    42 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Forsaken2544 View Post
    Basically, you can't put them anywhere in your deployment zone when they become available and then move them. :wacko:
    I've seen some players do this too, and I myself started out playing this way. It basically gives you the base of your model in free movement nd we thought it very advantageous for Dark Eldar Raiders, you get like 6" extra movement. Of course this was completely wrong. As Tarzen said models in reserve move on from the board edge, not deploy on the edge then move.

    They are then free to fire/fleet/assault or any other action permitted to a unit that moved.
    War Record Since Sept 2005
    Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
    New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts