Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing Tyranids versus my Eldar friend last week. He loooves his psychers, so I thought it would be a nice surprise to take Shadow in the Warp on my Hive Tyrant.
SITW: all p. tests made on xDy, discount the lowest. perils are nullified.
Unfortunately, he had also taken a piece of wargear/power that did this:
Silly Eldar Stones: all p. tests made on xDy, discount the highest.
What do we do?? We decided to have the two powers cancel each other out... He wanted to cancel out the bad part of SITW, but keep the part about nullifying perils... I thought that was pushing it though, having me pay MORE points for my ability, and it actually helps him...
If I had taken 2 Tyrants with SITW, would he only have cancelled one of them out?? This is madness. Has anyone else encountered this before?
Tyranids: 2500 pts
Imperial Guard: 1000 pts
Witch Hunters: 1000 pts
I think Pete Haines made a ruling on this a long time ago that you rolled an extra d6 (I'm allowed to say 4d6 right? otherwise this thread is to complex). Then you take out the highest AND the lowest. I don't have any proof of this though.
I'd say just cancel the 2 goddamn powers out. Roll it as normal. If anything it keeps your farseer safe as runes of witnessing increases PoW chances.
Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!
If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.
I think you'd probably have to roll 4 dice, ignore the highest and lowest and ignore perils of the warp attack.
This is another example where the Eldar win out against the nids. you are indeed paying points to make it safe for him to use his powers.
LO RulesOriginally Posted by AnonymousOriginally Posted by Cyric
This kind of thing comes up far too much in GW products and its really obnoxious. Fantasy Battle is king with all of its magic items that contradict one another. But with the very small number of Psychic powers in 40k I find this almost inexcusable.
My advice to GW. Either specify what should happen in the item/ability/power description, or make a catch-all ruling that says contradictory items/abilities/powers cancel one another out completely. Its not like they dont have thier own books available when they are writing a new one. How hard would it really be to crossreference new ideas?
Yes, I would agree that from a reading stand point, you would roll both extra dice and discount both the highest and lowest roll, then don't count perrils of the warp, not that it would matter unless you rolled 3 6s or 3 1s. Hopefully this will be cleared up in a the eldar faq.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
They cancel each other out in the Adepticon rules.
Of course, it is not official, its only common sense.
The GW GT faq also opts for saying that these two items cancel each other out.
The real question is how in the world do you use Runes of Witnessing when your opponent has Runes of Warding...
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Skizzik, sorry to burst your bubble but adepticon rules aren't common sense. They break several of the basic BGB rules.
Second of all, from a purely RAW perspective, I don't see why anyone would suggest rolling 4d6. On each and every sule that we are talking about it only mentions 3D6. So, by straight raw, it would be 3d6, remove highest and lowest, no PotW.
The way most play it, and seems most balanced is in this case the disregard both, roll 2d6, andpotw still happens on 1-1 or 6-6.
And in the odd case of two tyrants that both had it, I'd slap your forehead for wasting 10 points. Take Pscream for those 10 points or buy a SMC. But that's a whole other thread. (in short, read the rules for SotW. In NO way does it stack, unlike psychic scream=)
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
Personally, I think the most fair way to do it is to roll off each turn.
1-3 and the Runes work, Shadow does not.
4-6 the Shadow works, the Runes do not.
That's just my personal take on it, and is probably not following RAW exactly, but I think it strikes a fair balance between both players and retains the element of luck, as well as making the game more fun.
There are many many sccenarios in 40k where two rules directly contradict each other. In that case you dice off every single time to see which one works on this one occasion.
(that is from an old 3rd ed. FAQ with Andy Chambers, so maybe this is not the official policy anymore).
Shut up and play.