Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I know that you may shoot while falling back (assuming the weapon can be fired after being moved), however, may you fleet a unit while it is falling back? I have heard differing opinions on the subject, so I figured this was as good a place to ask.
For example, I have a squad of hormigaunts that fail their IB test, they then break towards the nearest synapse creature, which happens to be a broodlord in close combat. They run towards the broodlord however far they're supposed to for falling back (I'm fairly sure it's 2d6, but please correct me if I'm wrong). Could I then fleet them afterwards, even further towards the broodlord (and therefore my oponent's units)?
In my experience, you may fleet while falling back, but you must fleet in the direction of your fall back move. (For most people, this would be the table edge.)
In the case of tyranids who can fall back toward synapse, it would seem advantageous. However, remember that you may not launch an assault until you regroup. And if I remember correctly, that happens at the beginning of the turn.
Might be different for tyranids though.
* "I'm Significant!" -screamed the dust speck
* "Call me old fashioned, but an evil ascension to power just isn't the same without someone chanting faux Latin in the background."
Sure, you can fleet. It sometimes will come in handy.
Correct, you CAN fleet while falling back and for nids it can be handy!
Correct, you can NOT launch an assault on the turn you re group, BUT, if you are assaulted you must immeditly pass a un-modified morale check. Which if you have made synapse range is automatic. So you can get lucky and your opponent will get you out of broken and back into the fight faster!
Yes, Iv played a few games where I fleeted my gaunts while falling back and everyone who was watching agreed with the move.
If my memory serves me well I think that your hormogaunts fall back at 3D6 because they are beasts.
Just remember that tyranids don't auto-regroup when they enter synapse.. they will just auto-pass their test at the start of the next turn (assuming they are still in synapse range at that time).
As to the original question, it's in the BGB FAQ that yes, you can fleet while falling back [first question under "Special Rules"]... and it states which direction you must go.
Last edited by moob; December 11th, 2006 at 15:55.
Further, IIRC this was clarified in the bgb faq.
And as moob pointed out da springy nids, bgb p 49 says you may assault the turn you regroup.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)