Assaulting from vehicles - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Part time Pirate Lord Lucias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    73 (x3)

    Assaulting from vehicles

    Hey Guys,

    Just a quick question.. Can you assault on the same turn you disembark from a transport?

    I have always played that you can't move when you disembark from a vehicle (sort of like when you deepstrike) but when reading the rule regarding the Landraider Crusader, one of its special rules is that you get the grenades so that when you disembark & assault in that turn into cover you can get the special rule allowing you to attack at the same time...

    Let me know...
    Thanks in advance.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    I suck... Maiden neck... cebwj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark (DK)
    Age
    27
    Posts
    836
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    If you disembark BEFORE the transport moves, they may move and assault as if they just started on the board.
    If you disembark AFTER the transport moves, they may NOT move OR assault in in the given turn...
    -lurking in the shadows of LO.

    Officially diagnosed by Tekore
    Melkhior, Necrarch Lord

  4. #3
    Senior Member Stella Cadente's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    England, telford
    Age
    28
    Posts
    825
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    27 (x0)

    Yeah thats about right I love that rule stops really annoying Blood Angels from going across the board and into you lines on turn one, which was stupid

  5. #4
    Senior Member Valerian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    43
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    46 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by cebwj View Post
    If you disembark BEFORE the transport moves, they may move and assault as if they just started on the board.
    If you disembark AFTER the transport moves, they may NOT move OR assault in in the given turn...
    This is true for all vehicles except open-topped and Land Raiders (including Crusaders), which allow Assaults as long as the vehicle moved 12" or less (or maybe its less than 12" don't have the BGB on me).

    Valerian

  6. #5
    Illustrator Extraordinair Adrian MalSeraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New York State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x7)

    To sum up:

    If the squad disembarks before the vehicle moves, then the squad and vehicle may operate normally. So yes, you can assault.

    You may assault from an open-topped vehicle or if the squad diembarked from the Front Assault Ramp of a Land Raider, ONLY IF the vehicle moved no more than 12" in the turn.

    Movement more than 12" only applies to Fast Tanks, Skimmer Tanks, Red Ork Vehicles, Blood Angel Tanks with Enhanced Engines, and tanks moving on terrain classified as a road.

  7. #6
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    Adrian is this about your forays into Eldar?

    The restriction, specificaly, is on movement period. Because an assault requires movement the sequences would go:

    Vehicle moves / Troops disembark - the time the troops could have spent moving they were sitting in the vehicle, therefore they can not move, and hence can not assault

    Troops Disembark / Vehicle moves - the troops can move, hence can assault

    The exception being open topped vehicles and front ramps (LRC/LR) which is best envisaged as screeming up, slamming the brakes on and the guys fall/out/off so pretty much have no choice but to assault


    So to put this into the context of Eldar, mostly for banshees:

    turn 1 move up (star engines can help) to where you want to get out (your opponent is going to get a move before you do so you have to guess what he will do) - you are going to get shot at, spirit stones, holo fields, vectored engines will all help

    turn 2 - get out, move, fleet, charge
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  8. #7
    Illustrator Extraordinair Adrian MalSeraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New York State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x7)

    I know about that, Cheredanine.

    I just put it into the rulebook terms, that's all.

    EDIT: Foray's into the Eldar? Layman's terms, please.

  9. #8
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrian MalSeraph View Post
    I know about that, Cheredanine.

    I just put it into the rulebook terms, that's all.
    That is the way I remember the stuff in the rule book
    EDIT: Foray's into the Eldar? Layman's terms, please.
    Seem to recall several Eldar lists from you over the last couple of weeks but could be wrong
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  10. #9
    Illustrator Extraordinair Adrian MalSeraph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    New York State
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    192 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheredanine View Post
    That is the way I remember the stuff in the rule book

    Seem to recall several Eldar lists from you over the last couple of weeks but could be wrong
    I haven't written one in awhile, but yeah, I know what you're talking about now. I'm still coming off of the Marines. It'll probably take a while

  11. #10
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    The other guys hit it on the head, but just a little note. Yo may not move the squad out (disembark), then move the vehicle out of the way, and then move the squad. You may not pivot the vehicle, disembark the squad, and then move the squad. You may not move the vehicle a little, disembark, and then move the vehicle some more.

    So you can move the vehicle up to 12" and disembark, but you may only assault with the disembarked squad (which can't move, only assault if..)if the transport was open topped or a landraider variant.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts