Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here is the situation:
An IG plasma gunner declares a shot a target that is just out of range.
The rules section does not address plasma weapons specifically and says the "shot misses."
One faction says the shot occurs and automatically misses and a gets hot roll should be made.
Another says the shot "does not occur" so no gets hot roll is done.
Examples from tourney play?
You roll to hit, and if you get a roll to hit that makes the gun overheat, it overheats. Whether you fired out of range has nothing to do with it. In the case of firing out of range, the shot automatically misses, there is no to hit roll, and thus there cannot be an overheat result. The light cannot exist without the electricity.
This question came up around a year ago and the conclsion that everyone came to then was that as you automatically miss, then you don't have the opportunity to overheat, as has been stated above.
But I call to God, and the LORD saves me.
I think you roll to hit as normal, representing that the plasma-gun wielder has attempted to hit the target. if this is a hit and it is out of range, then all is well but the shot falls short and does not go on to roll to wound. If an overheat is rolled, then a save should be taken.
This represents that the model firing has effectively decided to fire, and has miscalculated the range, but still fired the gun so it could potentially overheat.
Also, didn't notice originally that this was in the wrong forum. This should've been placed in the Rules Help forum, which I'll now move it to.
The gets hot rule does not come into question here.
When you have declared your target, you then measure distance. If the distance is too great, then all shots from said unit are considered to have missed, without rolling to hit.
So in the guardsman plasmagunner example here, you can "assume" he rolled a 3...ie missed but didnt overheat.
RAW - shove it up yer bum!
Campaign for rules INTENDED :D
Lord Nemisis has it right. This was further clarified by Pete Haines on the old GW forums. Short of it goes, that an auto miss isn't rolled, thus no chance of over heating.
Just read the section on shooting, it will clear up most all things.
Oh, and one thing most people overlook: First you declare your target, THEN check LOS, then check range. Meaning if you declared a target that turns out to be blocked from LOS, it's an auto miss too=) Just as if they are out of range.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
You are making up rules and definitions. This exact question was discussed a few months ago when we talked about rending vs. wraithsight.
NOWHERE in the rule book does it say you don't still roll if you automatic anything. I will agree that you would normally not roll to improve game flow, but this is a game play concession, NOT a rule.
There are 2 possible definitions of "automatic miss" each is as likely as the other. Lets look at both.
1) Since you automatic miss, (or hit) you don't roll the dice. Since no dice are rolled, lots of abilities and rules no longer function, like rending, gets hot, etc.
2) You roll the dice, after dice are rolled you consult the "to hit" chart. The results printed on the to hit chart are ignored because you automatically miss (or hit).
Until GW comes out with a ruling on this you have to realize that both of these definitions of "automatic" are likely. If we use definition 1 then all kinds of rules are broken. If we use definition 2, everything still works the way it's supposed to.
Seems pretty clear to me. But without an official ruling, play it the way you want.