Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you have a 6 man squad of Imperial fists in a razorback, can you give tank hunting to the razorback also, or just to the troopers? The rulebook doesnt say anything about tank hunting being limited to troops only. I did a search on this site for the answer and nothing came up.
I don't have the codex, but I'm pretty sure it wouldn't work for the Razorback.
One (of many) reasons I say this is that the entry in the BGB says that they automatically pass Morale checks for Tank Shocks, which tanks don't have anyway.
IMO it's one of those things where people say that it doesn't say it doesn't work, for example:
"My Guardian has a 2++ armour save."
"Well, none of the books say it doesn't!"
Last edited by PaRaSiTe_X92; December 20th, 2006 at 13:41.
Tank Hunters cannot be given to the vehicle unless it says specifically in the entry that you may.
Basically, Dreadnoughts are the only vehicles that can be given Tank Hunters.
Sorry, the Razorback cannot be given Tank Hunters.
This is very interesting. My first thought was to say no. The reason is that Imperial Fists can be given Tank Hunters becuase of the trait they have. If you look in the Space Marines Codex (sorry I don't have the page number) you will see that it specifically says that tactical squads and dev squads may be given Tank Hunters. This overrides the fact that Tank Hunters is not listed in the discription for either of them. This discription does not say anything about Tank Hunters for any type of vehicle.
But wait... if I take a tactical squad and give them a razorback... isn't the razorback part of the tactical squad and therefore elligable for tank hunters? I don't know. I think not, and I think this outside of the intent, but a pretty good argument could be made either way.
However ,it is clear that GW did not intend this. If this is the way it works then it only costs the Razorback 3 points. Tank hunters on a vehicle for 3 points? The venerable dreadnaught pays 10 I think.
So while I do believe that a valid argument could be made to allow this, the person making said argument should have his Tank Hunting Razorback shoved so far up his crack that he has to open his mouth to fire the gun.
I agree that it shouldnt be allowed, and if it were allowed then it would be a staple skill for every army that could take it. I wouldnt do this myself as it seems like an "exploit", I was just wondering if anyone could point out where it is forbidden.
This is like I was saying earlier. Where does it say that my whole army doesn't have 2++ saves? Where does it say that they can't move 10 feet per phase? In most cases, it doesn't.
The rule (for rules) is, guilty until proven innocent. Wrong until proven right.
I think it's pretty obvious to me that transports are not part of the unit... they are a completely separate entity, and to argue that they aren't is pointless, as it says pretty much that they are. The only difference between, say, a Land Raider and a Razorback is that the Razorback is Dedicated while the Land Raider is not. By saying a transport is part of the squad, you could argue that the Land Raider could then buy Tank Hunters when that squad is inside of it.. um, nope?
I've never seen this come up before, which means it's a pretty obvious question with a pretty obvious answer, and few seem to dispute it outside of online forums. In the case of Traits and getting Tank Hunters, it specifically states Tactical Squads, etc. - not Razorbacks, which are vehicles.
Seems really simple to me.
LN covers it pretty well - a razorback is not a tactical (or devastator in some cases) marine. They're also completely separate units, they just occupy the same force org slot.
(Otherwise I'd make you keep that razorback in coherency and damn well fall back when I break your unit :ninja
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone