Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A subject that has been a point of some frustration between a friend of mine and I regards the use of the tyranid warriors.
In each of the four arm sockets, he has glued a spinefist, thereby equalling four spinefists total. He seems to think that this gives him 4 attacks, one each from each spinefist. However, the codex clearly state assault x, where x equals the amount of attacks the creature has. Therefore, 2 attacks right? I've tried convincing him numerous times, with no luck. I've asked the store clerk at my games workshop, but he was a bit vague.
So to settle this once and for all, i'm going to ask you educated and well-versed inhabitants of Librarium-Online. Does have 4 arms, each with a spinefist = 4 spinefist attacks, or does it only mean two.
He also thinks so of his genestealer, giving them five attacks on a charge and his carnifex eight. There's no way in hell any character gets 8 attacks on a charge, even tyranids right?
I am Leaf on the Wind, Watch How I Soar
Tell him to learn the rules.
What you model the unit to have doesn't necessarily effect the rules. The only case of this is WYSIWYG, where you have to model what the unit is equipped with ruleswise. It doesn't apply in the vice versa.
The codex, and the rules, takes precedence over the model. By his logic, you could model a Space Marine with six pairs of Lightning Claws to get six attacks that all re-roll to wound, etc. etc. etc.
Just throw logic in his face.
oh believe me, i've tried. Repeatedly
However, if think about it, it is sort of logical that 4 guns would equal 4 attacks.
I am Leaf on the Wind, Watch How I Soar
tell him that if he won't play by the rules that you won't play against him any more.
That is not dead which may eternal lie,
for in strange aeons even death may die.
Or tell him that since it's not a monstrous creature, that he in fact can only fire one gun, no matter how many he has=) This should drive home the point. Then point to a hivetyrant with a venom cannon getting 3 shots, and one with 2 barbed stranglers getting one shot total. The tyranid codex explains all this and more.
The fact that the double set of spinefists is redundant on a warrior (since you can't twinlink a twinlinked weapon), he's either thrown away 2 points, or in the case of some people, made a very cheap 2 wound synapse creature (18pts).
The first point I made should be enough though=) Or you can explain that your whole army gets a 2++ rerollable save because they are modeled with cool armour, tyranids not having any at all=)
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
For the genestealers, it specifically states that scything talons are the only way nids can get more attacks, all nid weapons come in pairs that take up 2 sockets and genestealers can only have one pair or scything talons, so that ends that.
The carnifex can actually get that many attacks but not the way he is saying. With scything talons, crushing claws and tuscked, it can get that many attacks on a lucky roll of a 6.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
LO RulesOriginally Posted by AnonymousOriginally Posted by Cyric
If the tyranid warrior has 4 spinefists modelled on it (and therefore no more arms) it counts as being equipped with two spinefists, therefore, the spinefist being assault X, would mean he could fire 4 shots, as the tyranid warrior does not have 1 weapon that shoots 4 times, rather 2 weapons that shoot twice.
it all makes sense really
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!