Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This has come up at various points and usually doesn't matter, but some people at my local club claim that an IC can divide his attacks between two different units in CC. I've poked around the BGB and can't find an answer. I've never tried to pull this on someone since I never found a rule that proves an IC is different in this aspect in CC. But I would like to know for certain.
Thanks for the responses.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
Page 51 of BGB says "Characters are treated as a seperate unit when resolving close combats, following the normal rules for multiple combats (see page 45)."
On Page 45 an example is given showing a Space Marine unit dividing its attacks against two different Tyranid units...
Anyway, good question. IMO I'd go with allowing the IC to divide his attacks so long as he's in base contact with a member of each target unit. If the IC isn't good enough, he'll obviously get slaughtered by the combined attacks of two enemy units.. but if he is good enough to survive that I'd say he's earned the right to take on two enemy squads at once.
Takka n' Wakka's Dakka Attacka! 33W / 6L / 1D
Different models can attack different units in assault, yes, but nowhere does it say that an individual model can split attacks. Perhaps it is a legacy rule from 3rd edition, I don't know... (I missed 3rd, and 2nd ed was completely different).
Short answer is NO, IC's may not split attacks.
Attacks are assigned on a model by model basis. I'll pull the bgb and cite the specific line if that needs be.
No where in the rules does it say that attacks may be split, be it from ics or any other model. Would love to otherwise, then my carnifex could send 2 attacks at your IC, kill it, and 2 at the squad, causing enough wounds to win combat=)
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
Tarzen is right. I believe that there is something under the IC rules in the BGB that explains this.
Just out of curiousity, whats next? Maybe you can make an issue about the fact that GW didn't define the action of 'rolling' a D6 to actually mean dropping it in such a manner as to produce a random result; thus making it perfectly acceptable to just put them down with the face up of your choice?
I do sir believe that splitting attacks was indeed a staple of a 3rd ed warrior's diet (or at least splitting attacks between weapons).
agreed, the only time a unit can split attacks is in some (very rare) shooting situations with ICs/Units with special targeting rules. or perhaps psykers. But in no way can a model split its attacks between 2 entities. *(a unit can if you take some care setting it up, but I digress)
I think we went over this a while ago , But I believe that tarzan is right IC can't split thier attacks among mutiple unites.
Last edited by Adeptjosh; December 31st, 2006 at 16:33.
Thought for the day: A Burning Heretic , Will brighten the Decor of any room.
It's on the second page of the BBB FAQ. ICs (or MCs) must choose a single unit as the target of all their attacks.
I don't think a single unit can split attacks. Please let me if I'm wrong though. I understand the rule to be that a single unit must allocate all of it's attacks to one single unit. This carries over to an IC since it is considered a single unit, it must allocate all attacks to one unit only.
Age is a state of mind, and since I have no mind, I don't age.
Check out my painting blog at http://gmansminipainting.blogspot.com/