Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Right... ive been playing and collecting for 7 year... ive had a nice few armys in both 40k and WHFB and also a sizable amount of LOTR stuff and mordheim stuff. However... one teeny tiny thing always baffled me. And i mean ALWAYS...
Can you rapid fire bolt pistols???!??
Now i know, i know... i feel like an idiot for asking... does it say 'rapid fire' in the special rules for a bolt pistol? No last time i checked.. BUT it CONTINUALLY says 'blood claws can not rapid fire their bolt pistols if within 6" of the enemy...' in the SW clarifications...shown here: http://us.games-workshop.com/errata/...s_faq_v4-1.pdf
i thought 'must be some sort of typo' but when it appeared again for the second time i thought to myself 'woah woah woah... have i been missing something in these past 7 years of wargaming???'
please put crucial out of his misery.... :s
-SONS of RUSS member-
Exiled until 5thED redo...
I pretty sure you only fire once if you move and if you don't move you fire twice.Its a pistol,not a rapid fire weapon like a bolter or a lasgun,its classified as a pistol,so not a rapid fire weapon and doesnt benifit from what rapid fire weapons do. I know nothing of space wolves but they may have a special rule,or it maybe a typo
I believe you can only fire it once regardless of moving or not...I think you could in the old trial assault rules, but not now...
You can however fire it and still assault.
I can't confirm this however as I've not got my rule book with me but I'm sure someone will.
I'll also move this to the rules forum
Last edited by Toastee; December 30th, 2006 at 21:54.
Want to chat? You can normally find me in the LO CHAT!
LO CHAT! JOIN US NOW AND BECOME A GOD OF BACON.
It's the same exploit/loophole that's errata'd out of Priests for Witch Hunters (althought not IG, maybe the wording in the IG dex is more clear.) If you have a unit who has a special rule that forces them to assault, you cannot weasel out of assaulting by electing an action earlier in the turn which precludes an assault. If an enemy were within 6", and you didn't move, you could fire your pistol twice and get out of having to assault (if the rule hadn't been clarified.) This could possibly come up if you faced a model who has a good chance of dying to bolt pistols but has higher initiative than you do and is likely to kick your butt in an assault (some types of eldar?).
Why the person who wrote the FAQ chose to say 'rapid fire' and not simply 'fire twice' we shall never know. It is a 3rd ed FAQ, I haveno 3rd ed rulebook, was that appropriate language under 3rd ed?
I agree with the inquisitor , The faq seems to prevent a loop hole & forcing the blood claws to charge even if they shouldn't. Basically they can not elect to preform a action that would prevent them from charging.
Thought for the day: A Burning Heretic , Will brighten the Decor of any room.