Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm fairly new to 40k--haven't even gotten a legal army yet, but I've been watching my friends play, and they have this argument they get into every time.
One guy says that if a character has a power weapon, he only gets one "power weapon" attack, the rest are ordinary. The other says that he only has a single two handed power weapon, what else is he gonna hit the enemy with?
Anywho, very basic question boils down to this--does every attack made by a model with a power weapon ignore armor saves?
Every attack ignores armor saves (unless you choose not to use it, in which case none do! =) )
The majority of the time, yes, every attack made by a model with a power weapon ignores armor saves. It's stated quite clearly in the rulebook, but I sadly can't remember what page it's on off hand.
Veni Vidi Variant
I came, I saw, I got a different type of Leman Russ.
The spikey ones go faster.
98% of the teen population has smoked weed, the other 2% went straight to crack.
Saga of the Ages. Click it.
Rules for grenades are on page 72 of the rulebook.
Mk, thanks. It seemed quite dumb to spend 25 points on a powerfist when it only gets one attack that might not even make it through the to hit roll.
Yes all the attacks are always the same, whether or not you choose this to be a powerfist/power weapon/regular attac.
Happy New Year.
If someone helps you with your query then you really should rep them, especially if that person is me, :D because that is obviously going to be really useful. :o
The only situation I can think of where a powerweapon/fist gets a single attack is in the case of a techpriest with a servo arm (or full servo harness) which adds a single powerfist attack to his normal attacks (or 2 powerfist attacks with a full servo harness). Aside from that you'd be hard pressed to find any other situation in which that scenario is true, in fact it doesnt even make sense outside of that because if my chaplain has a power sword its the only weapon he's going to be swinging around in close combat, and as we know power weapons are surrounded by armor vaporizing energy, it's not like hes going to drop his sword and pull out a combat knife and deal 2 more attacks that way. It wouldn't make sense. I wonder how whoever starts that argument argues that point, since both rules wise and fluff wise it doesnt make sense.
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left" Bertrand Russell
We bring only death, and leave only carrion. It is a message even a Human can understand.
I believe there is also a special character that can split his attacks.
However, the Tech Priest/Enginseer's Servo Arm should not be thought of as adding an extra attack - it should be thought of adding a completely separate Power Fist attack, not at all an addition to his standard profile, as things like two weapons, T. Honours, etc. would do.