Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I got into a discussion about using command squads and character HQs. The discussion lead to using both a librarian and a chaplain each with a command squad. I personally didn't think you could do this because a command squad is it's own seperate HQ choice in the book. Thusly it takes up a FOC slot for HQs. This means you can only have 1 character with an attached command squad, or 2 characters.
Is this correct? I know characters say they can have a command squad attached, but the command squad is listed as an HQ choice. Unlike Chaos where a Lord can have chosen as a retinue, but they take up and elite slot.
Also, a command squad, without a character leading it, is not valid.
OK makes sence, a character and command squad together make one FOC slot. So then am I correct in thinking that only one character can be attached, FOC wise, to a single command unit? The command unit text reads "...commander, librarian, or chaplain..."
I ask because my friend said you can set it up to have two HQs, each one consists of BOTH a librarian, chaplain and command squad. This seems incorrect because the verbage I said above.
Again your friend is correct becuase of a special Space Marine rule that allows Chaplains and Librarians to be attached to another HQ's command. Check Codex: Space Marines. Not sure the specific page but in the front where the rules start, in the "special rules" section, I think it's just after they talk about And They Shall Know no Fear.
Actually is is possible to make 2 hq sqauds with 2 or even 3 independant characters in.
there are articles normally which explain in great detail all possible combinations that you can have with an hq+command squad. Unfortunatly these are not available right now.
in short; in one hq slot
A master + librarian and/or chaplain (3)
a chaplain + a librarian (2)
a librarian + a chaplian (2)
But no chaplain + a chaplain or master +master or librarian+ librarian( cept for some exception in certain codices or when you use a sole second hq ic and join it to the other.)
The combinations are only possible if you take a character first, add a command squad and then attach a second character or even a third. A command squad is added to one character and does not take up the second hq slot. it is even impossible to take a command squad without an independant character. over the issue that the ic and the command squad MUST function as one unit, Dark angels differ from that rule, but otherwise its the mainstay.
I stress again: This is ONE HQ slot you are using.
You can have as much as 9 IC in a standard marine army, 2 times 3 in the hq sections using both slots and 3 in the elites by getting 3 tech marines.
Last edited by vindicator; January 3rd, 2007 at 19:06.
But won't that be 4 HQ choices?
You have 1 Liby with command->and then a chaplain(it's own seperate choice) joins in. That is 2 HQ choices right there isn't it? Liby /w command + Chappy.
So if you have 2 of the above, it would make it 4 choices?
In the second case they do not count as separate HQ choices. and this is what Vindicator and Sinjin are talking about. This rule is covered in the beginning of CodexM (I don;t have it with me, otherwise I would give you a page number).
Shut up and play.
Gman, you need to think in terms of units. Yes, technically that would be 4 HQ choices, but it does not matter how many things you select out of the HQ section of the book. Only Units take up a FOC slot. An IC, by himself, with nothing attached is a unit. Attach a command squad and it's still only 1 unit. Add another IC to that (they function as a single unit in the game) and it's still 1 unit, that takes up 1 FOC slot. Remember, it's UNITS that take up slots, not selections out of the codex.
See what you did?
now we have moderators posting copyrighted contents. What is the world coming to?
Shut up and play.