Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello everyone. 2 nights ago I was playing eldar when a disagreement came up over a rule. When firing multiple barrage weapons ( a tempest launcher in this case) I believe that you can place the second hit anywhere next to the first template assuming you score a direct hit on the second shot. this includes moving it around the first template to see how many models you can potentially hit. He argued otherwise, saying that a direction had to be chosen, then the template had to be placed down immediately. He said that because the rule did not specifically say that you could move the template around to cover as many models as possible, you could not do it. We could not come to an agreement, so we just moved on with the game. I would like to know the consensus for future games however.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
It does not however say anything about moving it around to check for best placement. I honestly wouldn't have a problem with you doing so, but your friend has a legitimate gripe. Best not to do it.
Just as a side note. The hit symbol on the scatter dice has alittle arrow. Barrages may use that arrow.
The example shown has all the barrages lined edge to edge with no overlap(kind of OOO, where each O is a template). However, assuming a hit, can these overlap, providing edges touch ? ie I place the first template (asuming a hit), roll for the 2nd template (assuming another hit), then place it with an edge touching, but then rotate the 2nd one (still with edge touching) so it overlaps some of the same models as the first template ?
I'm thinking of getting some of the FW Hvy Mortars, but they'll be a lot less effective if the first one hits and covers most of the unit, but leaves anyone already hit immune to being hit by the 2nd and 3 templates.
hope this makes sense.
! fire 3 barage weapons, the first lands wherever, the decond deviates directly away from me, I place it edge to edge in the appropriate possition, the third deviated in the direction, it is also placed edge to edge with the first shot so must overlap, there is nothing in the rules about moving or re-rolling so it is entirely feasible to overlap templates.
I dont think I would support moving your template aroundt he edge for subsequent hits to find where you get the most hits
Everything you have been told is a lie!
If a hit is rolled with a subsequent shot, then it is placed so that its edge is touching the edge of any other blast markers, so you can't get an overlap with this placement either, although a later shot could overlap this hit if it's scatter sends this blast marker in the same direction.
To me it really seems quite clearly written in the 2nd paragraph on page 32 of the BGB.
Why wouldn't you be allowed to get the most models. If it is a hit, why not. I've had guys place templates to help me get more models and I do the same thing i.e. you'll get more if you place it here..... You do it with the flamer template don't you? Seems unsportsmanly(I can't believe I am say this) not to.
It also states that a "hit" can be touching the edges of any previously landed markers... so that if your third shot is a hit, you can place it touching the edge of the second so that it overlaps the first ranging shot.
You can't use the picture in the BGB for a reason, either, as the subsequent shots were both scatters.