Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The question is about a Vanquisher firing its battle cannon at a Necron Monolith.
The Vanquisher has an AP of 8 + 2D6. My friend argues that as a Monolith, which ignores additional AP dice it can only be 8 + 1D6. I argue this isn't an additional dice granted by range, or melta or whatever, but an inherent characteristic of the weapon, and as such hits at 8 + 2D6.
I do have the FW book on Vanquishers, but only he has the Necron codex so I dont have the exact wording to check myself. Advice appreciated.
If it gets the extra 2d6 as part of the weapon's ability then I would say no. From the necron FAQ...
"Don't count any bonus penetration of any sort against a monolith."
However if it gets it as part of being an ordnance weapon then it'll work as the FAQ goes on to say...
"Note that you still roll 2d6 and pick the higher when attacking a monolith with ordnance weapons."
"You challenge me knowing that I am Xiahou Dun!?"
The Imperial Armor states: "Roll 2D6 for AP" and thats what Living Metal prevents.
Curses, I thought I had a counter to that cursed monolith ! Many thanks to both of you for the ruling.
Do not forget however, that you are shooting an ordnance weapon. (If I remember correctly, the Vanquisher is an ordnance weapon).
So you get to roll two dice and keep the highest.
Shut up and play.