Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Everyone knows that monoliths (and Veil of Darknesses) cana teleport Necron units out of HtH. But what happens to the unit they were engaged with?
The rules in the BGB and in the Necron Codex don't specify anything, thus I would think that such a unit just stands still anbd stares blankly into space, though the rulings on the Eldar Swooping Hawks power Skyleap (which is very similar) specifies that if the unit jumps (teleports) out of HtH the engaged unit may make a 3" consolidate move.
I'd apply this rule to the necron's teleport too, what do you guys think?
Last edited by Kheldar; January 7th, 2007 at 10:09.
- Just love that maki! -
You are right in that the codex makes no mention of the enemys options in this instance. Ths FAQ says nothing either so...
1. The unit may consolidate. (No, as this would be the enemy moving during YOUR movement phase).
2. The unit just stands there so you can shoot the snot outta them (Yes, as an option is not SPECIFIED for them they have none and therefore MUST stand there).
I have been wrong but I just checked the codex (unit entry) and faq.....
As I have already pointed out the Eldar Swooping Hawks' power Skyleap has the Hawks taken off the table at the end of their movement phase and if they were engaged in HtH the disengaged unit may make a 3" consolidate move in your movement phase.
- Just love that maki! -
Since it does not state the enemy gets a consolidation move as part if the deal they just stand there.
What skyleap does is completely irrelevant, different codex with different rules.
As I said, without a inclusion in the necron codex as to a unit in CC ability to consolidate if a phase out occours, then the unit may do nothing - as the rule have not specificaly stated they could do anything.
This is after all - A game of commission(it says you can), not omission (It does not say you can't). -
1. Talk about it before the match
2. Dice off for it
3. Send Papa Karmoon money.
GW aren't going to answer that question very soon at all. So best get on with it as best you can, and enjoy the game. Much like i enjoy it when people send me money.
LO RulesOriginally Posted by AnonymousOriginally Posted by Cyric
My take would be the enemy units get to consolidate in the Assault Phase... IE
1) They stand staring blankly into space, shocked when the opponents they were frantically fighting just half a second ago ~pop~ out of existence...
2) You "shoot the snot" out of your stunned opponents as they stand there.
3) They ~won~ close combat so they snap out of it and consolidate.
My 2 cents
Got a page ref to back that up?3) They ~won~ close combat so they snap out of it and consolidate.
They were in CC and now they are not. Whether or not they:
- killed all their opponents and have nobody to fight
- Won combat and won the initiative and slaughtered them
* Enemies teleported out
I think they were in CC and the fact that CC has ended should be addressed with the only possible outcome... Consolidate.
The other option is to consider the turn as stand-alone. The fact that they were previously in CC doesn't matter at all. They are not now and so do not get to consolidate... how can you consolidate if you aren't in CC.
Hmmmm... Thanks for making me think this through a little more, as a house rule, I'd go with consolidation. "Officially" I think they are SOL and just have to stand there.