Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok I don't think you can hit and run in your opponent's close combat phase.
My reason is that it says "the" close combat phase. Now when GW says "the" phase in the rules, it means your phase. It says this a lot. Check fleet. Check shooting in general. Even in the Tau codex, "the" phase is used for advanced stabilisation systems, and it means only your phase.
What do you think?
WhilstI might agree that when the thing was first concieved that was the intent, as such it is pointless, the subsequent move and charge of yoru opponent meaning that you would be back in combat in his turn and he would have an extra attack.
The standard use is pretty well documented (see the Eldar WD and the tactica on shining spears) officially, you can run on your opponents turn
Everything you have been told is a lie!
Agreed, not sure about that wording stuff, but everyone uses it on the opponents turn, and I've never heard of anyone saying it's wrong.
Age is a state of mind, and since I have no mind, I don't age.
Check out my painting blog at http://gmansminipainting.blogspot.com/
The difference in your examples and hit and run is that your opponent's models are acting in your assault phase, so they'd be eligible to perform hit and run when their combat is over.
The hit and run rules apply to any assault phase, because the rule specifies the unit can leave close combat in the assault phase, not the owning players assault phase.
In fact it even differentiates the assault phase on page 14 by specifying that both forces fight in the assault phase, but only the player whose turn it is can move into an assault.
The ASS system is used in the movement phase and only the player whose turn it is can move in the movement phase unless the opposing player has to deal with tank shock (then the unit who have been shocked move or die), so there are occurrences when the opponent does do something in the opponents phase, hit and run is one of them, responding to tank shock is another.
Phase as a rule does mean your phase, but like other thins in 40K it can be modified or changed by other rules or circumstances.