Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I've got a question and could use some clarification because I'm sure I'm missing something....
I was alwasy under the impression that you could only hold units in reserve if the mission allowed it or a rule specifically stated they could no matter what.
For example - Mission Special Rules state Deepstrike - any units with the deepstrike ability could be held in reserve or in the case of Space Marine's ability to always Drop Pod Troops no matter what rules are in play.
But then I skimmed the new WD article on Tactica pertaining to Reserves and it makes is seem that you can hold any units in reserve any time you want...now I have to reread it more carefully when I have time but GW's at it again with their unclear language.
Long and short - When can you hold units in reserve? As indicated above (like I've been playing all along) or whenever you want as indicated in the new WD?
Just out of curiousity, whats next? Maybe you can make an issue about the fact that GW didn't define the action of 'rolling' a D6 to actually mean dropping it in such a manner as to produce a random result; thus making it perfectly acceptable to just put them down with the face up of your choice?
I have read the same article and recognized the same inconsistency. The author seems to have neglected to mention that reserves cannot always be used. It is written from the point of view of ALWAYS holding units in reserves not in accordance to the rules. This is in the US most recent edition. Its really unfortunate actually, as some of his tactics aren't that bad, but he seems to have missed reserves aren't allowed at all times.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
White Dwarf has a long and disreputable history when it comes to rules - They have a nasty habit of getting stuff like this wrong on a regular basis.
Since the "Reserves" scenario rule isn't in alpha missions, the only units that can be in reserve are daemons, drop pods and units that can "always deep strike" (or that have skyleapt off the table). Probably some others too, but you get the idea.
And I think it's only in omega missions that you can put any unit in reserve.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
reserves are dependant on either the mission rules (as stated above) or specitic rules that allow it. For example a piece of wargear in the Dark Eldar army called a webway portal allows any part of your army to be held in reserve. These are subject to the reserve rules and must be rolled for from turn 1.
In short it has to stated somewhere to be allowed or you can't do it and your original judgement is correct.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
Many people consistantly overlook this simple fact. As pointed out, feel free to put any unit you wish in reserve if the mission allows it (or their special rules do).
Great way to keep vehicles safe. Oh, and unless you are speedfreaks, I don't think there are any other units that roll for reserves on turn one. Usual is turn two=)
So, dreadnaught with lascannon and frag ML, wandering on in turn 2-3 is an easy way to keep him safe from multiple anti tank guns until all the enemies tanks are readilly visible.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)