Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This question popped up in a game I had against Eldar a while ago. I was playing my LaTD army, and after a few rounds of his warp spiders killing mutants, I managed to assault a squad of dire avengers. I killed them all and managed to consolidate into his warp spiders. He them immediatly hit and ran away from me, as he claimed the end of the close combat phase is after my consolidation move... It seemed a little strange that he could just bounce away from me without sticking around for one round of combat, and that consolidating into him just gave him an extra move, but we just moved on with the game at the time.
So I guess my question is thus, does hit and run happen after consolidation?
well, if he is in an assault at the end of your assault phase, then he can hit&run. So if you moved in and "Locked" him into combat then he should be able to leave that assault.
Edit: hah, i'm a noob for not actualy answering the question.
So if you page to the back of your bgb and look on the neeto referance page, it shows you what order to resolve melee combat.
Breaking-off and Consolidation are on the same step. next is the pile in move. after these "at the end" of the assault phase, you would hit&Run.
I could be reading it wrong, but I've used it just like you discribed before.
Last edited by Yurtalpus; January 23rd, 2007 at 20:42.
This will of course be argued, but by the exact wording of hit and run, you break after the wounds/casualties are resolved, before morale checks and all that.
That is the end of combat, as per the rule.
Many will argue they mean Assault, but that's not what the rules say.
Makes them useful, makes sense, and is the RAW, but most don't play it that way.
Most simply use H&R at the end of the assault phase, as pointed out.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
Well, does a unit with Hit and Run get to Hit and Run even after having lost combat, without having to take its morale test? I would have thought it gets either one benefit or the other, but not both. Surely either (1) H&R happens before combat resolution and the unit can lose a combat and run away without having to take a morale test, but it can't run away after being consolidated into, as this happens after combat resolution; or (2) H&R happens after combat resolution and the unit has to take its morale test before being allowed to run away, but it gets to run away after being consolidated into...
The way i read it you hit & run at the end of the combat phase (assault phase). So you would check leadership before declaring a hit & run.
And according to my rule book, there are 3 phases to a turn. (page 14 in the box called "turn summary") And a hit & run is declared at the end of the close combat phase.
Last edited by Yurtalpus; January 25th, 2007 at 06:19.
This is an interesting question! I've never bump into this situation before but it would be nice if it could be cleared up before it does happen to me.
The way I see it (after flipping through the rulebook for confirmation), consolidation does not constitute as a combat.
Hit & Run rule (p.74):
"... The unit using the Hit & Run ability must be involved in a combat, and will..."
Consolidation (p.44), last paragraph:
"... ,a unit which consolidates into a new close combat does not count as engaged until the next Assault phase and is effectively ignored. all..."
Do these make make sense to you guys?
You make a very good point there. I think you're right. So you can't Hit and Run after being consolidated-into, after all.
EDIT: Hang on, though, I'm not sure it's that simple after all. The passage you quoted from page 44 is talking about the unit that does the consolidating, not the unit being consolidated into. It's basically there to ensure that no-one tries to claim that their unit has charged another enemy unit and gets to fight again in the same assault phase. Read in the way you suggest, it could also be taken to mean that as that (consolidating) unit isn't "engaged" until the next assault phase, the enemy unit can move away and shoot at it in the next turn (or if consolidation occurred in the enemy assault phase, that the consolidating unit could change its mind and move away again). So I don't think it's clear-cut at all. Anyone else have an opinion?
Last edited by Hammerite; January 28th, 2007 at 00:05.
I think it is that simple, either you are locked or your not. I dont see how you can by the rules tell me i'm not in combat but then tell me my unit is locked (in combat) and cant move during my next movement phase.
Last edited by Yurtalpus; January 28th, 2007 at 02:09.
But my point is that if those units aren't engaged with one another "until the next assault phase", what's to stop the player whose turn it is next from moving them away during the movement or shooting phases, or shooting with them, as apparently they're not in combat yet? We don't allow that, so it doesn't seem that your interpretation of the rule can be trusted.