Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
had a game today (500 point necron vs. death guard) and a couple of issues were raised. i'm at work now, so can't really look up clarifications.
1. can a unit be forced to take multiple moral tests in one round of shooting?
i.e. my necrons took 4 wounds, passed their moral test, and then took another 2 wounds and failed.
2. i had 4 necrons against 2 plague marines and 3 nugling bases (all at full health). necrons one the combat, but plague marines have no retreat so will suffer addition wounds if outnumbered. do you say 4 necrons vs 2 marines (+1 wound) or 4 necrons vs 2 marines and 3 nurgling bases (4 vs. 11)?
1) No. You let the enemy shoot with everyting he wants to. Then make a morale check for all units that has suffered enough casualties. Hence one roll.
2) This is one combat. All participants from each side adds to the numbers when calculating outnumbering. If your unit of four is engaged to five units of one model each you are outnumbered.
1) You might have to take multiple pinning tests in a single enemy shooting phase; pinning tests occur immediately after the shooting of that particular pinning weapon is resolved. If you are pinned then you do not have to take the morale test for 25% casaulties, but if you passed all your pinning tests and took over 25% casualties then you do take a morale test at the end of the enemy shooting phase. (pages 27 and 32)
2) This is slightly trickier. The rules say that if the <B>unit</B> is outnumbered by its opponents then you must take wounds. However, on the same page when talking about the leadership modifiers for morale tests after losing combat, it talks unambiguously about the degree to which the losing <B>side</B> is outnumbered. So I think it is 4 necrons vs 2 marines and 3 nurgling bases but I'm not sure of that. (page 48)
EDIT: remove inadvertent Smiley!
Last edited by Hammerite; January 25th, 2007 at 10:59. Reason: remove inadvertent Smiley
To make the answer to question 1 really simple...
Moral tests are always taken at the end of the shooting phase unless there is some special rule that says otherwise. So a unit will only ever take 1 test for casualties in any turn.
So technically, if you wanted to be a butt about it, if your opponent askes you to take a moral test after a round of shooting, you can take the test, and then not let him shoot with any of his other units.
And then find yourself lacking in opponents to play! :p
But yeah, they're right. Multiple pinning is possible, morale from casualties is done at the end of the phase. This also means that if you have a squad of 8 guys... and one unit kills a single person while another unit kills one more, you've now taken 25% between the two and must check. The 25% is for the entire round, not just one squad at a time.