Apothecary Clarification - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Apothecary Clarification

    I just wanted to make sure I understood something about Apothecaries correctly.

    Say a standard SM is hit by a plasma shot. The plasma shot doesn't have a high enough strength to Instant Kill the marine, but it's AP is enough to deny the marine an Armour Save.

    Is it right to say that since the marine didn't get a save then the Apothecary can't be used to negate the wound (as per the rule on pg 24 of the SM Codex)?

    What about if the Marine is in cover and gets a cover save, does the Apothecary then get to negate the wound?

    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota (USA)
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    75 (x3)

    The apothecary does get to negate the wound because it did not come from a weapon with strength equal to double the models toughness or a close combat weapon that does not allow an armor save. This seems to be a pretty common mistake, and even more so when the assault cannon rends, but it is still a mistake and your model can be saved.

    Now you know how to save a life.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Lord Malachi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Thunderdome
    Age
    46
    Posts
    355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    "...and knowing is half the battle!" - GI Joe
    :lol:
    Just out of curiousity, whats next? Maybe you can make an issue about the fact that GW didn't define the action of 'rolling' a D6 to actually mean dropping it in such a manner as to produce a random result; thus making it perfectly acceptable to just put them down with the face up of your choice?

  5. #4
    LO Zealot magnet_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,330
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    126 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by nichodemus10 View Post
    The apothecary does get to negate the wound because it did not come from a weapon with strength equal to double the models toughness or a close combat weapon that does not allow an armor save. This seems to be a pretty common mistake, and even more so when the assault cannon rends, but it is still a mistake and your model can be saved.
    Not to be rules lawyering, but what about the third sentence in the second paragraph under Narthecium/Reductor entry. It says it can only be used to ignore a failed save. If no save is allowed (i.e. low AP weapon on a marine in the open), then can it still ignore the wound?
    Tim Wright

    "The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
    -John Gilmore

  6. #5
    Too Sexy For My Whirlwind Sabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Edmonton,AB
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x3)

    Having your save ignored counts as automatically failing it. That has been confirmed by GW.
    Peace
    Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion

  7. #6
    Senior Member Sinjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    New York
    Age
    43
    Posts
    823
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Sabe View Post
    Having your save ignored counts as automatically failing it. That has been confirmed by GW.
    Where? Can you please quote your source for this statement? When you say "comfirmed by GW" was that in a FAQ, or was it some GW store employee?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts