Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I know a commander can only benefit from the Trust Your Battle Brothers benefit if he's a member of a command squad.
My question is
Can a commander with the true grit/counterattack benefit, purchase a bolter (denoted as a two handed weapon) and a power sword? My 'little captain' build occasionally involves a Command Squad attached Command-Captain with a combi-weapon (two handed) and a power sword.
For a more academic question...
in general, can anyone with access to the armory purchase multiple 'two handed' weapons.
I understand that a person so armed would definately not recieve the usual extra attack for having two weapons in melee. But could a non TYBB character have a bolter and say a thunder hammer, and use one for ranged, and the other for melee?
Thanks in advance.
I cant awnser the first question, sorry, but I can awnser the second. At the beginning of each wargear listion is a side note (this is in CSM, SM, IG, and Eldar so far from what Ive seen) which mentions that characters can only take 2 weapons, only one of which may be two handed.
Ist doch so gut gewürzt und so schön flambiert und so liebevoll auf Porzellan serviert Dazu ein guter Wein und zarter kerzenschein Ja da lass ich mir Zeit Etwas Kultur muss sein.
No one can have multiple 2-handed weapons. Ever. It's that simple.
**A Commander may buy a Power Weapon.
**This combination violates no rules (1 hand/2 hand weapons, etc.).
Therefore, yeah - he can. And yes, he would then be able to benefit from True Grit.
Take note, though: TRUE GRIT IS NOT USEABLE WITH COMBI-WEAPONS OF ANY KIND. So your current captain type can't use True Grit.
As stated, there are two "maximums" you can take when purchasing weapons from the Armoury:
You may buy up to two one-handed weapons, or up to one one-handed weapon and one two-handed weapon.
You can buy a Bolter and a Power Weapon and be golden, as the Bolter is two-handed and the Power Weapon is one-handed.
You may not buy a Bolter and a Combi-Weapon both, as they are two separate weapons and both are two-handed.
You may not use True Grit with a Combi-Weapon or other "Bolter" type, such as the Storm Bolter. The only models that I am aware of who can use True Grit with Storm Bolters are the Grey Knights.
On your question regarding a thunder hammer and bolter, thats a legal combo all the time as thunder hammers are a one handed weapon.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion