Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, funny as it may sound I'm one of those eldar players who's never really used jetbikes - so I have a few questions now that they (and Spears) are now worth taking to a greater extent...
First, how does turboboost work? Normally you can move up to 12 inches (?), but turboboost doubles this? Does it stop you from shooting in the same turn?
Can you give a rider two one-handed weapons (i.e. an Autarch or a Spears Exarch) and can they use them in the same turn? (such as for gaining extra attacks - say a shuripistol + a laser lance) - or do they only get to count them following the initial assault? Or does riding the bike mean you always need a hand on the controls?
A semi-related question; saw this in a game last night. A tau player moved his hammerdevilfish thing (actually 2 of them) into difficult terrain and didn't take a test, insisting they were 'hovering'. Is this some special new Tau rule I've never heard of, or can skimmers/jetbikes now happily finish their move in difficult terrain without having to test?
Thanks in advance.
No you can't shoot or assault if turbo-boosting. Remember eldar bikes get the free 6" assault move so if you don't need the invul then don't turboboost.
The rider may use both hands freely and can use any weapons in cc regardless of what he shot with.
All skimmers and jetbikes may ignore terrain regardless of race. (not sure if they can ignore size 3 terrain, can they?)
Thanks for the answers there, LL - the terrain thing always confused me due to the old wording of the skilled rider and vectored engines. It just confused me when he hopped his devilfish into a building ruin and unloaded troops, and here I am thinking that it should have been testing to crash...
I think all skimmers ignore terrain for LOS purposes (seeing over it?) but not for seeing into/through it for units in base contact/within it? - another one of those things which has never really been clear to me. Are they flying over the battlefield, or are they hovering an inch off the ground and as such just size 2 models? Yet friendly models can move under them... good ol' GW rules
okee dokee, after that read im still as confused as i could be.
when can a jetbike model claim a cover save?
Jetbikes can get a cover save if they choose to enter the terrain. If they do they must also take dangerous terrain. Alternatively you may say they are flying over it.
Skimmers never block LoS to anything unless they're immobilised. Troops still can't walk under them.
Quick additional question - on a jetbike with multiple weapons (say, a SS Exarch with Shurken cannon and star lance) can he fire both in the same turn as a vehicle could? Or is he subject to normal vehicle weapons firing restrictions (i.e. main/secondary armament within certain range bands only).
Assuming the model moves 12 inches, can it shoot both the shuricannon and the starlance, or just one or the other? Obviously with turboboost can't shoot either of them.