Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What do you guys think of this?
example: chaplian joins a squard of ten marines, ordnance template from a battle cannon hits them. template covers 7 model including the chaplain. now do you roll to wound the chaplain seperately? however is not the chaplain part of the squad so dont you allocate hits to the squad first before you put one on the IC, also wounds can be allocated to anyone in the squad not just the ones covered by the template. surely if you roll to wound the IC seperately then it can be argued that you can roll to wound members of the same squad that have heavy weapons or are veteran sergents seperately too.
So in the example above would you roll seven dice to wound and the wounds allocated to the squad and the chaplain escapes without a scatch?
Interested to find out how you guys play it
Short answer: You don't roll for any squad members seperately.
The standard hit distribution rules apply (i.e. mixed armour save/toughness) when an IC joins a unit. The BGB specifically mentions this under the blast template entry in the weapon types section, if I recall correctly. So yes, the proper way to play this is that you as the owner of the unit may distribute the unsaved wounds to whomever you choose within the unit (again, subject to any mixed AS/T rules that might apply). In this case, there's no problem dumping the wounds on the squad members first.
This would be different if he was simply close to the squad, but not joined, and the template scattered to cover him. In this case, he'd be forced to take a hit, as he's essentially a 1-model unit. So this could actually be a good reason to join an IC to a unit rather than have him trail behind it.
Political language is designed to make lies sound truthful and murder respectable, and to give an appearance of solidity to pure wind.
If you're intruiged by doctors who are also ninjas, then this is the webcomic for you!
You don't roll for him individually. You would only have to take an inv. save for him if the entire squad was under the template, and they were all wounded.
(You follow the rules on pg 30, last paragraph of "Blast weapons" - under which most ordnance weapons fall)
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Thats what I thought but my opponent was convinced otherwise and I couln't recall exactly where it was explained in the rulebook. Ah well, my death company chaplain died needlessly