Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i was at my local shop yesterday and someone had the next dex (my army box hasnt come in yet ( ) so anyway,
i was reading up and did anyone else notice that it doesnt say you cant assault when you get out of the droppod?
It says the vehicle counts as moving, but its open topped. so you could technically assault out of it.
did anyone else see this?
I think that would make sense with the increased cost of the drop pod, though it would be one of the biggest advantages that come from the codex, in which case i think it would be everywhere :rolleyes:
I'm looking at my normal marine codex and it says that drop pods are open topped here as well.
I imagine that they will still be covered under the Deep Strike rules which forbid assaulting after Deep Striking.
Can't speak for the DA codex, but the SM codex says that you can't assault out of the drop pod (pg 21, next to the last paragraph). Just thought I would get that out in the open before any confusion ensues about the CodexM DPs.
EDIT: It doesn't actually say that the drop pods use deep strike rules. Sure they look a lot a like, but it doesn't say they arrive via deep striking so it's hard pressed to use the can't assault the turn you arrive via deep strike rule. However, in all fairness, I think if it's not in the DA codex, it's an unintentional omission.
"The internet perceives censorship as damage, and routes around it."
Magnet_Man is right. The DA codex still follows the rules from the SM codex. Therefore if it is in the SM codex then the rule still applies to DA.
Kendo's DA's, Eldar, and stuff WIP
Dark Angels: W-22 D-4 L-5 High Elves W-8 L-1
As a proud owner of not only a large number of brand spanking new DAs and he DA codex I have somthing to say on this point. There are a lot of changes in the DA list. For example DA shotguns are higher in strength than normal shotguns in 40k. This is a big difference. The change is explained in the codex as bing due to the DAs sole use of manstopper rounds. Another difference is in the Whirlwind Tank. There is a different missile option available to DAs than other SM chapters. There is also an explanation attached to that difference.
I think it is clear from the intended changes in the Da codex that where a rule is different for the DAs then it is explicitly stated, often with some fluff. I don't think a mere absence of a comment like a prohibition against assaulting is enough to warrant a change. You need a positive statement.
Being able to assault from a DP would be a major advantage. The people who made 40k know that better than we players. If DAs were intended to have such a powerful ability it would be positively stated in the codex and the point cost of DP troops would rise in respect of the awesome increase in effectiveness.
Especially when you consider the DeathWing assault special rule which for copyright reasons you will have to find in your own codex.
REMINDER: Armchair modding isn't cool, yo. - Firedrake28
No what the drop pod says is
Read Special rules
Inertial Guidance System: It enters play under deep strike rules from the Warhammer 40k rule book. They may always enter play using deep strike even if not normaly used. yatta yatta yatta
Under the Deep strkie rule in the main rule book it says at the last paragragh at the bottom of 84 troops arriving via deep strike may not move or assault on the turn they arrive. they my shoot as normal but count as having moved.
And the Sm codex they do not arive as a deep strike they arrive as a Drop pod Assault on page 21.
I was wondering how long it'd be before someone brought this up.
Otherwise, you're basically saying that Dark Angels have access to traits, armoury, psychic abilities that don't suck....Except that Deathwing Termies don't have Transport options, so no Drop Pod assaults for them.Originally Posted by ZarahemnaThe arguement states that the Drop Pod is the one doing the Deep Striking, where as the unit is only disembarking. It's a twisting of the wording and spirit of the rules, IMO.Originally Posted by Death Eagle
Remember that when you're looking up rules and such, the first rule you should ever consider is the one found on page 5 of the BGB.
This would explain the huge point increase, but unless clearly stated on the Codex or from a GW's errata I'll never assault my enemy on the same turn I drop a unit...
It would be cool to drop 3 units of Veterans, with 3 Power Fists in each unit, and assault on the same turn if the pod lands where we want it to (or doesn't scatter miles away). On the other hand though, playing against something like that would be really frustrating.
40k : Necron ,Chaos, Space Orks ,Eldar ,Dark Angels, 'Nyds
WHFB : Orks & Gobbos, Vampire Counts
G3n3s1s is located at: